Red Dust Art Review

in #art6 years ago (edited)

White Nights Watercolour 36 palette Set With Swatch Card

I went online to buy some of my favorite professional watercolor paint, Winsor & Newton, they were expensive 20 years ago, and nothing has changed they are still expensive. Usually, I pay, even though I am as poor as a church mouse because I know the quality, there is nothing chalky or cheap made by W&N, and I know how the colors look and what colors mix well with other colors. You have to be careful with Cadmium colors because they may have chemical reactions when mixed with other colors.

I haven't used paints in a pan before and I am looking forward to keeping all my paints in one container while traveling. I've used tubes for over 20 years and trying to keep track of the paints and my palettes in my house is a pain in the neck! I'm looking forward to painting in the wilds while camping or going to my favorite local park and arboretum.

I bought my paint set from Amazon and the set arrived in two days! As soon as the packaged arrive today I cut away the wrappings and unboxed the set. Everything was neatly packaged too.

White Nights Watercolours are manufactured and distributed by Nevskaya Palitra of Saint Petersburg Russia.

The extra-fine artists' watercolors of the "WHITE NIGHTS" series are manufactured with finely dispersed and lightfast pigments. The paint structure also comprises gum Arabic. This results in a quality paint, giving artists full assurance when completing important artwork.

The full hard plastic pans of paint unwrapped easily, and the paint wasn't crumbly. The paint is moist, and I suspect they will stay tacky and stick to the top of the plastic box if you don't put a little bit of rubber glue on the bottom side of the pan.

The set also came with a nice swatch card, and I dutifully filled in the paint and wrote in the color's name so I can remember the order of paints. All the color's names are familiar to me and I was pleasantly surprised how true the colors are:

Cadmium Lemon, Cadmium Yellow Med, Hansa Yellow, Yellow Ochre, Golden, Golden Deep, Titian Red, Ruby, Cadmium Red Light, English Red, Quinacridone Rose, Carmine, Madder Lake Red light, Quinacridone Lilac, Violet, Ultramarine, Blue, Cobalt Blue, Indanthrene Blue, Turquoise Blue, Indigo, Cerulean Blue, Yellow-Green, Emerald Green, Green(Russian), Olive Green, Oxide of Chromium, Raw Sienna, Burnt Sienna, Umber, Burnt Umber, Mars Brown, Sepia, Payne’s Grey, Neutral Black, Zinc White

The case is made of heavy plastic and comes with detachable mixing palette for easy cleaning. The full pans of paint fit loosely, I used some rubber glue to keep the pans in place when I pack my paints up in my backpack.

The paint pigment is intense, washes are smooth, colors are just like my favorite W&N paints, wet on wet spreads without clumping. I love how easy it is to mix a little water and get a paintbrush full of intense pigment. I will be looking forward to using my new paints on my next painting.

My Daughter told me you can find the White Night 36 Pan Set on Ebay for $36.00. She told me this after I bought my paints...sigh

I paid $68.00 from Amazon, Overstock has the set for $78.00 and takes all sorts of cryptocurrencies. I used my Swift debit BTC card to buy my paints. I bought my BTC with my SBD...hahaha before I forget, you can buy tubes of paint as well. I left a link to the manufacturer at the top of this article if you want to check out the company.

“The factory was found in 1934 and started as a small varnish-and-paint factory which was built by the English production engineer Julius Fridlender in 1900 on the river Chernaya. Nevskya palitra’s materials are used for restoration works in such museums and monuments as the Hermitage, the State Russian Museum, the Tretyakov Gallery, the Church of Christ the Savior, St. Basil Cathedral, the Grand Kremlin Palace and many other monuments. Our permanent buyers are masters of unique folk Handicrafts of Palekh, Mstera, Kholui, Zhostovo, Pavlov Posad, many icon painting workshops and churches.”

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

@reddust, Love to reading succeed story again. I highly appreciate you know how the colors look and what colors mix awesomely with other colors.

You have to be careful with Cadmium colors because they may have chemical reactions when mixed with other colors.

Yep..Your explain very better.Shown some risk condition coz using water color. Nice painting set you receive from Amazon. Wow.. I have never heard some color names. Very informative to know those color to me. Very interesting to earn something form painting. But you have nice idea to buy BTC. Keep going.

I am so excited @madhushanka! I have so much fun trying out new techniques, paints, paper and brushes. Some women love new clothes and shoes, I love new paints and paper...hahaha

Someone women love new clothes and shoes, I love new paints and paper.

Yep. Totally truth. Currently every women like to buying clothes. I've saw with last two weeks here. Lot of textiles shops got massive income via cloths trading. Only few peoples have various kind of passion. Lot of persons have common passion.

I'm pretty interesting to see your drawing experience. Someone need to find how to using water color for painting I recommend will follow @reddust. Then you can be better painter with patience. But remember that not easy work. Excellent point given @reddust.

I think it would be fun to review new paints, paper and brushes...maybe the companies will pay me for my review articles too...hahaha Thank you @kingsberry

Thanks for the review, I just sent it to my Painting students with whom I am starting a brand new term. Who wouldn’t want those paints?

They are very nice except the pans fit loosely in their carrying case. So make sure everyone rubber glues the pans down or they will have a mess if they pack the case back and forth to class.

It is wonderful that you can buy your paintings you can see that you love to paint and you also do it very well. Here in Venezuela it is not easy to buy anything I have never been able to buy anything on Amazon, but recently a great friend decided to send me some things I needed for my classes and it helped me a lot. Happy night dear I hope to continue enjoying your wonderful paintings

@denissemata, I have read Venezuela is in a deep depression and it is very difficult for everyone right now. What classes are you taking? Thank you and I pray your nation can overcome it's difficulties.

I am taking bakery and baking classes, thanks to what little I do here at steemit I can pay for my classes. I'm very grateful that the steemit is going up

That's why you are always posting yummy bake goods. I will remember to stop by and upvote your posts to help out <3

My memory has alwasy been poor but now that I am approaching 60 years old it really sucks...hahaha

I found an app called Steemify that I can enter a steemian name it will will notify me when you post an article. I keep forgetting to use it...hehehe I am entering your name right now.

If I always publish cakes, I always sell some cakes and help with household expenses with that money. You are very kind, you remind me of my mother she is also close to 60 and has apoor memory a little forgetful. Is incredible but here the salary of a whole month is about 2 dollars, steemit has been my salvation to everything that happens in the country :(

Thanks for sharing another wonderful post, am really dieing to see your experience in art, I know it will be beautiful and awesome.

@owen121, I have to watch out, I don't want to get impatient and ruin the fun I am having with this painting. .....I can't wait to try out the new paints though...hahaha

Haha that's really true, just take your time, I know you can't wait to try out the new paints

Great painting, very awesome and artistic, you have high talent in painting, success always for you @reddust

Thank you @abialfatih, I have little talent and a lot of stubborn patience, ....hahaha <3

artwork very extraordinary.cat very qualified. i am very happy with your post @ reddust, success for you

Thank you @lusi, I haven't tried out many different watercolor paints. I am looking foreward to trying something new.

paint for a very good paint, it looks like the quality of paint is very good @ reddust.for produce a high artwork. the research in choosing the paint is very important.very amazing your post friend.sucses always for you and your masterpiece.

The reviews were very positive, thank goodness for reviews! I wouldn't know which watercolor manufacturer to pick when I decide to try new paints. That's why I stayed with Winsor & Newton watercolor paints for these last 20 years because I know they are fantastic.

Painting wanna very interesting work like as hobby. You're well explained there. Yes..Watercolour palette Set too expensive currently. W & N painting method so awesome. Thanks to nice review @reddust.

Good paints of any kind, oil, gouache, watercolor are so expensive. It is very aggravating using cheap paints, they clump up, don't spread well and the colors are usually chalky and dull. So I spend the money on quality paints, which last longer because the colors so intense, a little paint goes a long way.

Nice art. Its said, when you passionate about something. The person goes way behind length to get the best for its work. The painting is great

Thank you @youngchief, now I am impatient to finish my painting so I can start a new one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59181.56
ETH 2521.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47