My Pond Is The Universe

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Ghost Glass Frog

Scientific name: Sachatamia ilex

Interesting fact about the Ghost Glass Frog, the amphibian is able to change its skin color to match its surrounding environment. The Glass Frogs are very small, the size of a quarter.

They live by streams in Coasta Rica and many areas in South America. The amphibian needs a moist environment. Especially during breeding season.

The female lays her eggs on a leaf and the male guards the eggs until they hatch. Many animals and snakes love to eat the small frogs, so changing skin color to match the leaf that holds your eggs makes sense.

The Species was named Glass Frogs because of their translucent skin. You can see its internal organs through the skin covering its underbelly!

11.5 x 9 inches, 300lb hotpress cotton paper, watercolor and gouache, 2014

Glass Frog Facts

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

i love this frog... : )

The Glass Frog is one of my favorites as well, thank you for supporting my art @paniopan🌸

My pleasure... Namaste.

Interesting info!

But those eyes!

Those scary eyes! :)

Yes those eyes are scary! They are huge too, thank you @sidwrites for supporting my artwork🌸

Anytime! They are really good (I suck at art). Following you and wish to see more of your updates!

Cheers! :)

Well I suck at writing😉 I will follow you and enjoy some good articles, I love to read.

Hehe! Let's all have fun here.

Thank you for the follow!

Have a good day! :)

Hehehe🐸

meep

I think you are really @lordvadar in disguise

meep

Thanks for the info!
Steem on!

Thank you for stopping by @rahul.stan🌼

You're welcome buddy. Looking forward to your future posts. Followed. :)

Beautiful work dear friend @reddust, what an interesting story, thank you very much dear friend to share

Thank you dear @jlufer for supporting my artwork and being a good friend🌸

"Time's fun when you're having flies." - Kermit the Frog 😉

Kermit will never go hungry🐜

Great artwork! :)

Love your work too😍 Your last post, splash of color is amazing.

Awww, that's so sweet of you @reddust :*

I'm telling the truth! Do a series😁

Series of?

Sounds like a good idea! Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65910.66
ETH 2696.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88