Karner Blue Butterfly 🦋 Art by Red Dust

in #art7 years ago (edited)

A Butterfly A Day

Lycaeides melissa samuelis

I grew-up with these beautiful powder blue butterflies. As a child hanging out along the edges of our horse pastures, little butterflies would dance around me as I walked through the dried late summer field grass seed heads as the butterflies danced on the Oregon Cascades wind looking for summer flowers. That description would make a beautiful painting wouldn't it?

$35.00 sbd includes shipping, without matting or frame. 7.5 x 6 inches, 300lb Hotpress Cotton Paper, Watercolor, Gouache, Pen, and Ink

🦋


🦋


Art Masking Fluid

Masking fluid is a nice tool to keep your lighter areas clean whilst one works with washes.

The range of Lycaeides melissa covers the northern and western United States, portions of central and western Canada, and extends southward to northern Baja California, Mexico. They occur in the Upper Sonoran to Canadian (sometimes Alpine) Life Zones in the Nearctic region.

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Beautiful! Butterfly's are free I was up in the mountains having a picnic and all of a sudden hundreds of butterflies danced around me it was one of the best experiences of my life

I know, I miss those magical ethereal moments. Thank you @cerirod1218

@reddust
Very pretty. The art is very attractive. You should be proud of yourself.
I am happy I get to see your treasures.
And butterflies are so dainty and pretty to look at.
Thank you for sharing.

Francis

Thank you @francisk, I'm doing this series because I need some easy fun work to uplift my heart.

@reddust
Few have the natural skills to do work that you do. The masses, (me), doesn't.
If you find joy and peace in your work, that is a good thing.
Thank you very much for your reply and upvote.

Francis

I bought this fluid a few months ago and still didn't try:)

Masking fluid is helpful, it takes some practice applying to your surface. I choose strong paper that can take abuse, delicate paper will rip when rubbing off the masking fluid. It's great for detail work!

I usually break all the rules and use white watercolor. I know it mustn't exist, but it's here, shhhhhh:)

My Dharma name is "rule breaker" welcome to the rebellion!

Beautiful work! My sister is a talented artist, too. She is a graphic designer but has used many mediums for her art. She recently joined Steemit. I think you two would enjoy each others' posts. @jenerallee78

I'll check her blog out, thank you @country inspired!

Thank you!

I like the butterflies. Especially the blue one!

That is really beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

Beautiful artwork ;)

Thank you, this series is fun and fast. 🦋

Both pictures are very pretty; I love the way the blue becomes red in the second painting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46