Jonah Lomu All Black Rugby Team

in #art8 years ago (edited)

My daughter's boyfriend was a rugby player in his youth. He had a difficult childhood and found a mentoring system through the Tulsa Rugby team that helped him build a solid foundation in which he thrived as an adult. He gives a lot of time and his money to several foundations that mentor children. That's were I was this weekend, helping support his rugby team, which ScotFest supports through its charity work.

I'm doing this acrylic painting for him, I've never painted with acrylic before and I've never painted or drawn a man! I'm going to finish today after taking a couple months off to think about changes. I'm bringing the same brush stroke patterns into Jonah's face and finish details and shadow/light work.

I researched rugby so I could share intelligent conversation with my Daughter's Boyfriend and found I loved the, "All Black Team," of New Zeland. Their ritual at the start of each game gives me goosebumps. Jonah Lomu's life story is a struggle of a native culture surviving occupation and the fame professional sports bring expectional athletes, which many times the athletes don't have the tools to deal with the stress fame brings. Jonah died penniless. Jonah's Death and Debt

The Haka

Sort:  

Johna Tali Lomu What a super star, an athlete well before his time and the haka is the greatest sporting spectacle it has no rival although it caused a bit of a stir when they intoduced the throat slit when they played Australia a few years back .The Allblacks what can you say the pride of a nation i dont think the world sports fraternity gives them any where enough respect .if they were a nfl team or a European soccer team there brand would be bigger than google.well done on the painting and the way your going about trying to connect with your daughters boyfriend

The throat slit and tongue out are my favorite! I was crushed when I found out he had died. Researching introduced me to a fascinating culture and their struggles to keep their tribel identity, I understand on a root level because I come from a small farming and business culture, we are also struggling to survive in this push to globalize and homogenize the world for the benefit of transnational corporations and the banking mafia.

I am trying very hard to be a good perspective mother-in-law! I do this with everyone I meet and work on developing a relationship with, I'm doing the same thing here on Steemit ;-)

Good work, very emotional!

Thank you, I tried to feel Jonah's presence after researching his story, I tried to honor his culture and family too. He was an amazing person.

I see... impressive idea...

Thank you @onetree <3 I'll be making an article on how to make blackberry wine soon ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59592.00
ETH 2545.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54