Jonah Lomu ~ Acrylic Painting

in #art7 years ago (edited)

My Favorite Rugby Player ~ All Black Team, New Zealand ~

I created this painting for a birthday gift or it may also be donated to raise money for at risk children rugby program here in Tulsa.

My daughters boyfriend is a coach and runs programs for adult and children's rugby. I started studying rugby so I could have an intelligent conversation with him. He is passionate about rugby, architecture, and computer programming. He is a coder and so smart sometimes I have a difficult time trying to engage him in a conversation. I figured I would try and engage through art, it's worked for me before.

I picked my first subject because I saw Jonah performing the Haka for the All Blacks Team. The Haka is a Warriors ritual dance from New Zealand. I read his life story and his struggle with his health and his struggle as a Native New Zealander. I have provided links to his life story and charities

(12 May 1975 – 18 November 2015)

30 x 48 inches, Stretched Canvas, Acrylic Paint

Wiki

Jonah Lamu, 1999

The haka (plural haka, as in Māori, so in English) is a traditional war cry, dance, or challenge from the Māori people of New Zealand. It is a posture dance performed by a group, with vigorous movements and stamping of the feet with rhythmically shouted accompaniment. War haka were originally performed by warriors before a battle, proclaiming their strength and prowess in order to intimidate the opposition, but haka are also performed for various reasons: for welcoming distinguished guests, or to acknowledge great achievements, occasions or funerals, and kapa haka performance groups are very common in schools. Wikipedia

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Hey, it's amazingly super cool!!!

Amazing art! @reddust Looks absolutely real when its size is scaled down.

That painting has really come along.
Thanks for sharing all of its different stages.

I love how it turned out with your splash background.
When you showed the painting just after the splash, I wasn't quite seeing how it would all tie together in colors and motion.
But it is awesome as a finished piece.

And the story, the inspiration, and the back story are awesome.
So, please let us know how this story ends.

@reddust, rugby has been so intriguing to me since the first day I watch my first game. Such an amazing sport.

And to watch All Black do the Haka war cry is something that everyone should see at least once.

Great piece of art.

@reddust,
All Black is my favorite too. This painting is a great piece of art! That's incredible! Thanks for sharing with us!

Cheers~

wow! so beautiful artwork!
I love to watch the players of rugby to performe the Haka! Thanks so much to share this story!

I would love to visit New Zealand someday, explore the flora and fauna, maybe catch a couple rugby games too. Thank you @silviabeneforti!

tell me that i am not dreaming this looks so much realistic that even if you ask me any day i will tell this is real wow superb work words may fall short to describe the effort you have put in this simply amazing wowwwwww

I had to struggle with this painting as I hardly work with acrylic paint and I very rarely paint humans. Thank you @blazing.

if that the outcome after the hardwork and struggle i respect it a lot this is so cool.

So, rugby... You are one tough granny, @reddust :D

I've never been interested in team sports but I have made an effort to get to know rugby game rules so I could talk with my daughters friend. I ended up getting hooked on the sport. In school I was a long distance runner and helped coach endurance building for track and football players. Long distance running all I had to do was compete with myself...

Woooooooooowwwwwwwwwww reddust you like rugby as me i didn't know this guy but i will see more videos about him in youtube.

Jonah was a good person in a world that uses sport figures like gladiators in the olden days. After I started drawing him I continued reading about his life and the world lost a good heart when he died. I also got to know the Native peoples of New Zealand and their struggle to find balance is a rapidly changing world.

Yes more than just a famous player they need to be humans and help their communities as juan cuadrado here in colombia he has some schools where help homeless child to have food and education

Yes, we all need this type of leader and community builder desperately . The planned global communities in big cities destroy human interaction and healthy relationships.

Yes red i share that idea totally

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67888.24
ETH 3518.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71