Jonah Lamu - Art By Red Dust

in #art7 years ago (edited)

All Blacks Rugby Player From New Zeland Died At Age 40 Years Old.

I'm putting a new background in, I don't like my design and I'm highlighting Jonah's face. I'm leaving a link at the bottom of my page regarding Jonah's untimely death. He is my favorite out of all the rugby players I've read about.

My Daughters boyfriend is a rugby player, coaches rugby and runs several charities helping children that have had a tough time. I wanted to do a painting thanking him for being such a good friend to our family and our community here in Tulsa Oklahoma.

I started studying rugby so I could could carry on a conversation with my daughter's boyfriend, they've been dating now for 1.5 years. As I was researching rugby, which I knew nothing about the sport, I fell in love with the All blacks team and how they start the game. Video below, their tribal song and dance gives me chills. I think it wakes the warrior in me and the men are so manly too.

48 x 24, canvas and acrylic

Jonah Lomu, All Blacks legend, dies at age 40

Sort:  

I'm not really into rugby that much, however I remember watching him destroy England and just marvelling at his speed and power. I definitely wanted to watch him when he was playing.

Really nice painting by the way :-)

Cg

Thank you @cryptogee, to tell you the honest truth, I love to watch the men run...rugby players have a body type that is so thrilling to me, they are beautiful when running. And to be totally honest the All Blacks team is hot. And I like the game...😆

Lolz, fair enough, that's as good a reason as any. I think I watch women's water polo for a similar reason :-D

Cg

Haha❤️

Wow... Really cool! I remember that i could not believe it when the news of his death hit the news one year (?) ago. The guy was a colossus, and a kind one, stories abound about his generosity and decency. Upvoted and reesteemed!

Thank you @herverisson, Jonah was an amazing man, his athletic abilities were amazing but his big heart and compassion were the star that shined even brighter. I was so sad when I found out he died, I was looking for award to watching him play. He could run over anyone like a monster mud truck!

Im not a fan of rugby, that's some good artwork. I also find the Haka really interesting, more when they do it on weddings.

When the woman do the Haka at weddings or funerals I want to stand up and scream with them. I'm not really into sports. But I made sure my kids played sports all year long, yes I was a minivan Mom! My husband is from the Nederlands and he loves soccer. So he isn't really into rugby. Now my grandkids are into rugby too!

I've cashed out some of my sbd, I'm going to enroll all of us, my 2 grand kids and me in a martial arts program. I haven't figured out which one I want to do...something that won't be too hard on my back. I'm pretty physically fit for 57 years old so I'm sure I won't have a hard time.

I really love Philippines fighting sticks

wow this is amazing, is nice you are teaching your kids to appreciate exercise and other cultures at the same time!

I know, I'm pretty excited! When I started meditating I used to take my youngest daughter to the Korean temple were my teacher lived. We lived in a very small community up near Mt Hood Oregon, not many cultures to explore. We had to drive to Gresham Oregon to find a qualified Dharma teacher.

My daughter loved Sunim the monk who taught me my first lessons back in 1994. I love exploring other cultures and hopefully my grandkids will have fun, learn new skills controlling their emotions and body.

Is so cool you could learn meditation from a real monk.

I like this fighting stick system even more, the master is amazing

Such a wonderful, historic game. I have several friends that played, including women. The All blacks are at the pinnacle, in my opinion. The Haka would definitely scare me, if they were doing across the pitch, that's for sure. Thanks for the nice tribute to an amazing player.

You are welcome @ddschteinn, I'm glad I did some research. I actually like a sport now. Rugby is so much fun to watch, it is a faster sport than soccer and I think the men who play rugby are tougher. No rolling around on the ground crying like a baby or complaining all the time in rugby!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50