Iris The Fox

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Personification Of Rainbows

The rainbow fox is the first painting I rendered after a 15 year hiatus from creativity. The name Iris originates from the daughter of Thaumas, she is a minor messenger to the Greek Gods. Iris was traditionally depicted in human female form with wings like a Christian type angel. I picked the fox form because in myth the fox often represents the female spirit. Rainbows are pure light translated through water that birth ordered bands of color from the heavens to earth. Much like the female human gives birth to a child, the spirit translated through the flesh.

Homeric poems she appears as the minister of the Olympian gods, who carries messages from Ida to Olympus, from gods to gods, and from gods to men. Iris primary functions are translated through taking her name apart, erô eirô; the voice that speaks, also eirô, "that which connects," together spells eirênê ; hence Iris, the goddess is the rainbow which translates light to a spectrum of colors, brings all the colors together and restores order and peace in nature.

I had to stop painting, there was no time for contemplating and creativity. All my energy went into learning new skill sets to survive after being a stay-at-home Mother and Wife until I turned 40 years old and divorced my 1st husband for being an abusive philanderer. I was willing to let him wander but couldn't stand his mean spirit, he was what I knew, just like my family. It's sad when people close to you label you crazy so they can treat you badly. After waking up to my role as a victim in my family I had to leave. My family didn't want me to quit the part. I packed up a few belongings in my little Ranger pickup and took off for the unknown. Leaving my ex husband and family forever. I've never looked back!

IMG_0288.JPG
23 x 15 inches, handmade coldpress 300lb cotton paper, watercolor, and gouache
IMG_0289.JPG

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Are you selling this? Amazing concept and colors :)

I will sell any of my art work for the right price, since this is an early work you can have this piece for $200.00, I'll retain printing rights. Thank you kindly @paco

What a colorful cutie this fox 🦊 I always told my daughter that not every Zebra has to have black and white strips. Sometimes we can imagine colorful ones. She liked that story

Life is but a dream we can paint as we wish🌈, thank you @mammasitta

All that we see or seem Is but a dream within a dream
Edgar Allan Poe

This is true, everything we experience comes from a dark place...lolol our brain is incased in darkness💀

I don't think so . I have seen crystal clear bright beauty as well

Just think about how light gets to our brain...firstly we don't truly see light, we see a reaction from objects hit with photons, this energy is translated through the optic nerve into electricity through a complex reaction of chemical mixtures in our body that produce the electric pluses that are transmitted to regions of the brain that translate the electrical pulses into images, which are then within 1/64 of a seconded filtered by our conditioning into forms we understand....hehe, as a child I often wondered how much my eyes made of clay are missing when they see what they are seeing.

http://www.ducksters.com/science/physics/photons.php

Then the mystics have something called the 3rd eye..it's not made of clay

Colorful Zebra 😀😀😀

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.45 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 22 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

The work is beautiful dear friend @reddust, I really liked the expression of their eyes, they are very realistic, beyond everything beautiful and the combination of colors. thank you very much

Thank you dear @jlufer, I'm going to paint this composition again, my skill set has improved since this picture was created. I love the subject very much.

I love the expression on your fox's face, all the color, and the shadows of the trees... Lovely! :)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you @creatr, I love rainbows, nature, and especially foxes. I'm happy my joy makes others feel happy.

It's all about the eyes with portrait art, thank you @natureofbeing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57286.76
ETH 2998.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26