François And Our Hobby Farm

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Caricature Of Our Favorite Dominique Rooster

François died his second year from an immune system dysfunction caused by commercial feed. I changed my chicken feed to homemade organic sprouted grains and experienced no loss my second year raising pullets and roos.

14 x 10 inches, Mixed media, Prismacolor pencils 2014

François Was a Dominique Rooster I raised from a shipment of chicks bought from Cackle Hatchery. I also bought a couple of incubator boxes to hatch eggs after my chicks started laying eggs. I hatched around 150 chicks a year, kept a couple of the best hens, butchered the Roos around 5 months and sold the rest of the young pullets through Craigslist. The chickens paid for their own feed and we harvested free eggs and meat." The venture paid for itself.

My husband and I moved to Eugene Oregon after working and living in downtown Chicago Illinois for many years. My Husband is from the Netherlands and had never been to Oregon. He was surprised how warm and dry Eugenes summers are and how wet, cold, and crazy winds we experienced during our winters. He fell in love with my home states woods, streams, and mountains and we have very few biting bugs, spiders, and snakes. He also fell in love with hobby farming.

I grew up on a farm near Mt Hood Oregon and was raised caring for and eventually eating our livestock. My Husband's Grandfather was a farmer and his father grew huge allotment gardens so he wasn't a newbie to farm life and gardening.

We had two acres with about a 1/2 acre in gardens and a 1/2 acre in pasture for our chickens I raised, sold, collected eggs and butchered for our meat. I wanted to see how self sufficient I could be raising our own food.

We bought raw milk from a small 3 cow farm near us and bought our grains/legumes from an organic cooperative located in Eugene. I went shopping at our local grocery store for sanitary products 1/2 dozen times a year.

We loved living this way, we stayed in Eugene for 5 years before moving to Oklahoma to be near family.

Cackle Hatchery - Heritage Breed, Dominique

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Love this!
Great drawings :-) and wonderful pics - really love the milk in the mason jars (I don't know why!)

Thank you @gardenlady, I made mozzarella cheese, yogurt, and butter from the milk. I grew up caring for cattle and for a couple years I milked cows for our neighbor.

Milk and in mason jars is prolly triggering a genetic memory😉

Not sure genetic...but now that I think about it, when I was a kid we used to get our milk delivered in big half-gallon glass jars with paper (or foil?) tops. I remember dropping a full one once right in the middle of the kitchen...big mess!

Most of our European lineage grew up drinking raw milk and raising our own food, this lifestyle is in our genes...I think we hold all our ancestors memories in our genes and we can trigger these genetic memories when introduced to the correct stimulus.

Excellent post dear friend, @ reddust is good self-sustaining life, beautiful story, auque the rooster dominique capto all my attention, so you can appreciate it was very funny and with all the vices. Beautiful job, congratulations

Francois was a very amorous Rooster, he fathered many babies and was a great protector of his flock. Thank you dear @jlufer

it's so interesting to read about your farming life! my family are all the city habitants, but my parents always dreamt about countryside's house (we have a word "dacha" for such type of this (I guess it's kind of "summer house").
so, when I was 16 years old, we bought the very old house in very old and wild land (it cost not much money). in home we had electricity there, but not water. my mom and sister loved different earth jobs but my dad and me - not, contrary, hated it. but we loved a fishing which was absolute fantastic there.
so I respect a lot people who can can do anything, any farm job, because I know how difficult it is.

There is a strong connection to healthy flora and fauna in soil linked to our gut flora and fauna. We humans are tied to our soil in many ways. I love gardening barefooted, and fishing too, love fishing, we also pick up flora and fauna that keep our gut/immune system healthy from the animals we eat and care for...

Well done! Awesome artworks and very nice story, congrats! ^_^

Wow... very cool! Reminds me a bit of my childhood... my parents were organic market gardeners before it was a "thing;" and I remember getting milk in glass bottles from the local farming cooperative.

My husband remembers milk in glass bottles too! He says Dutch milk taste nothing like American pasteurized milk and I agree. We grew up organic, but we just called our farm produce food...lololol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86