Fan Art -- Guess Who This Is --steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago (edited)

I will be drawing the lesser characters of my favorite book the Hobbit. Everyone and their grandma has drawn Gandalf, the Elves, Trolls, Hobbits, and Smaug. I'm using 2b and hb pencils and may go darker, haven't decided yet.

The teacups and herbs are nice, I love the subject but there is another side of me. . .

I read the Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien in 1973, I was 13 years old. I immediately became one with the story. No movie will ever be able to match the power of my imagination combined with Tolkiens wizardly writing. I could spend hours reading, and be transported to other worlds, other times and become someone else. I was happy when grounded to my bedroom. I wasn't a bad kid, no drugs, bad friends or bad behavior but I was the family scapegoat and rebelled mightily when I was called to act the part. I had my art and my books, that's all I needed to be happy when I was a tweener and teenager, my problems with my family faded away as soon as I picked up a pencil or opened a book.

When I started reading philosophy in my early 30s, especially Buddhist philosophy I lost my addiction to fiction and art. I guess I didn't need to escape anymore. Recently I started drawing again and maybe I will read the Hobbit, like for the 8th time!

A link to my subjects story and name.

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.81 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Beautiful work you just started, looks very promising. My friend @reddust. Congratulations
Beautiful story that you just mentioned, made me take a trip to my childhood and remember how many readings as a child, thank you very much

I think the trick to aging well is remembering the awe we felt as children and keep that feeling close to the heart. I will always remember as a child the wonderment I felt being with nature, reading a good story, and being with my childhood friends.

I completely agree with you. Nature , books, creative play and movies were a great escape and other world experience outside of the scapegoat role.

Thank you very much for this beautiful return, I admire your wisdom my great friend @reddust

I wish I lived near you, I'd love to experience Hawaii and I could help you out during and after your pregnancy. I've had three babies that are grown and helped out when they delivered.... @noplainjayne

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66