Diamond In The Rose

in #art7 years ago (edited)

When ego breaks down ~ Chögyam Trungpa

Spiritual Materialism by Chögyam Trungpa

"Don't try to reinforce your ego through material things, belief systems like religion, or certain emotional states of mind." In his view, the point of religion is to show you that your ego doesn't really exist inherently. Ego is something you build up to make you think you exist, but it is not necessary and in the long run causes more suffering.

Ignorance is the binding factor in the development of ego, but it also has a subtle relationship with the basic intelligence of buddha nature. Ignorance is not solid but is based on sparks or flashes of ignorance operating on some ground. Between two sparks of ignorance is the ground of intelligence on which this process of ignorance is operating. Sometimes, ignorance forgets for a moment to maintain itself, so that the awakened state comes through. So a meditative state of mind occurs spontaneously when, occasionally, the efficiency of ego’s administration breaks down.

10 x 10 inches, watercolor, 140lb watercolor paper, my thoughts on the symbolism between the body and the mind.

Roses are present in many ancient teaching stories, in ancient India and the Himalayas there is a cosmic rose known as Tripurasundari, which represents beauty, strength, and the wisdom of the divine mother.

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

great words with beautiful painting
Best moments in life is when a huge amount of ego between two breaks down. When God breaks us down, we lose our ego. we become humble real quick! thanks for sharing this post

I've been talking to God since I was a little girl, I call god my beloved <3

woah that's beautiful reallyy

Love your work. Ignorance is really painful. You do not want to be on the other side.

I think ignorance regarding who we are and why we do the things we do is the main cause of all our suffering! Thank you @melowd.

u r right @reddust ignorance is the 1st step of to go wrong side some good relation

I guess the first step is to recognize ignorance within onself...that's so painful, it's easier to call other ignorant instead...

thats right diamond in the rose but no one goes to ego down only some few are go it down for some best

You can't pick up the ego like one does dirty laundry and give it a good wash. It's really difficult subject to talk about because everyone has a different idea what ego and ignorance are.

good post mam to talk on ignorance and ego which are the big matter of her society

I think we humans have always struggled with ignorance regarding who we are and why we react to life the way we humans do, ego is a new term we use and it is hard to define.

ignorance is really painful :'( i too get ignored by my love :(

Yeah I agree ignorance + love = pain. But what kind of love, lust, love of friends and family, love for a spiritual friend, love of wisdom?

some time we ignore some one with us attitude and its a start for a break but if u dont have ignorace for anyone and live with positive attitude then i think it world really make a flower and a diamond combination mam

I agree @mikewilliam, I think you are talking about wise compassion and kindness, we all suffer from ignorance, knowing this we don't have to judge so harshly when someone acts out and causes pain to self and another person.

Lovely post and painting! Ignorance often makes us nurture unhealthy attitudes and perception. That being said, if we analyze our ignorance non-judgmentally instead of labeling it as bad or negative, we can slowly improve at it and let go of all the unhealthy attitudes that you nurtured due to ignorance.

@sharoonyasir, I was taught metta meditation through a Theravada Burmese vipassana meditation teacher, first I apply wise loving kindness to my own ignorance, look deeply into it and see there is nothing there. It's painful because I can't try and distract myself, the metta meditation helps sooth the wound. After some practice you can apply metta to help others!

I am not regular at meditation but I do practice mindfulness breathing meditation a few times in the week. Trying to build a permanent habit of it. :)

The ignorance of the people guarantees us of its submission
Great Artist , very nice painting
thank you so much
@machhour

Thank you @machhour, I agree, it is easy to manipulate someone if they have no clue why they do the things the do!

thank you so much for this awesome post

I'd prefer a rose to a diamond any day. Igborance is bliss? Or abandoning the ego, as much as possible.

I have not found my ignorance blissful, that's why I went and found a Buddhist Monk from Korea years ago. I knew I was causing my own suffering, why do I react the way I do? Why do I stay around people that don't like me? Why can't I change my negative habits? Sunim my teacher helped me figure out these questions and let go of a lot of old habits.

That's amazing. Especially the fact you did something you searched. I prayed when this world got too overwhelming for me. And I mean prayed like it was life or death, which in a way it was. Yoga appeared, a true friend, ans then Steemit. (In the space of about 4 years,)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43