The Dreamer's Lament... Epic Dreams and Art

in #art7 years ago

I had many epic and vivid dreams last night.

As I returned to a conscious waking state this morning, I started recounting the night's "excursion" for my dream journal... and realized how words were horribly inadequate to describe what I saw and experienced in the dream state.

Translating the Unconscious to Conscious

I am sure it is a common lament among artists and creatives-- the desire to translate these seemingly fantastical places from the dream state into visual art for the waking.

GreenSphere
What do you see, in your dreamscapes?

Of course, my ability to execute-- in physical space, as a drawing or painting-- the grand and impossibly surreal places is lacking. It comes off as "tame" and small and not at all representative of the overwhelm of all senses I remember from dreaming. 

It saddens me, and makes me wonder how often people experience this struggle; which really is a struggle to represent almost "impossible" images in a concrete world.

In the meantime... I feel slightly sad that the vivid dream landscapes are fading, as the day wears on.

Have you ever tried to paint or draw your dreams? How did it turn out? We're you happy with the outcome... or frustrated? Leave a comment!

The Red Dragonfly is an independent alternative art gallery located in Port Townsend, WA; showcasing edgy and unique contemporary art & handmade crafts by local and worldwide artists. All images are our own, unless otherwise credited. Where applicable, artist images used with permission.   

Footer

Sort:  

i see doodles almost everywhere.
check my blog i draw them in pebbles.

Painting on stones is pretty cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41