Art and Creativity: What is "Creativity" and What is NOT?

in #art7 years ago

Here's a morning confession for you: I was a solid "D-minus" art student in school.

I say that, even though I have been around art and artists pretty much all my life... and even though I derive a good portion of my income from creative/artistic pursuits.

My problem: If someone asked me to draw a horse or a person, even my best effort never came out any better than a blob with a stick at each corner. My brain just never seemed capable of turning what I saw in my mind's eye into something recognizable in 3D reality.

Definitions and Semantics: How we look at Art and Being Creative

AlchemyStones
Creative? Not Creative? Art? Not Art?

Although I started doodling geometric patterns and scrolls before I was even ten years old, the standards by which art was judged left me with the impression that I was actually "NOT creative," in any way shape or form. Whereas people admired my intricate pen and ink mandalas and other "sacred geometry" drawings, they were somehow not considered "art." But I did have lots of vivid colors and patterns inside my head... and they had to get out!

Some years passed before I found myself in a similar situation once again, this time as a writer.

Having more or less turned my back on drawing as a creative expression (except as a form of personal stress relief), I had started to embrace the idea that my creative outlet in life was writing. And I was OK with this... I always really enjoyed the written word, and started journaling when I was a pre-teen.

However, there was a problem: My writing "enjoyment" always came in the form of commentaries on the human condition, explorations in psychology and personal development, along with writing "what if" scenarios about the future.

But because it wasn't poetry or something resembling literature, it was not considered "real" creative writing. At least, that's what I was told.

An Unrelated Workshop, Many Years Later

BeachArt
Natural "art" on the beach

What's important to remember in this story is that I never stopped drawing and painting, and I never stopped writing. What "stopped" was any perception I had of myself as a creative person. I got to see myself as "just another sheep" wandering through life, occasionally "doodling and writing a bit, as a hobby."

Phrased differently, I didn't take my creativity seriously enough to "bother" developing it.

In 2001, I found myself at a 4-day retreat, which was basically a series of self-development and understand-yourself workshops. While there, participants were given a variety of self-assessment inventories... and one of the results in my personal inventory was that I was "highly creative and artistic.

Which I found confusing, having previously had those very characteristics dismissed as not being part of who I am.

At that workshop, there were actually three of us who scored very high on "art and creativity" yet believed ourselves to not be creative. So we were put together in a small "study group" to explore this conundrum.

Don't Let Others Define Who You Are!

Our stories-- two men and one woman-- were remarkably similar: We had a natural curiosity and drive to explore things, but our interests had generally fallen outside "conventional definitions" of creativity. 

Seattle
Two "towers;" one new, one old

Richard was brilliant at pattern recognition and had written his own elaborate software routines that tracked specific trends inside the numbers of the stock market... which allowed him to make a living from "day trading" stocks... enough to support his love of woodworking and building furniture. Both... very creative endeavors.

Kate had grown up around older women who were master seamstresses, but she had no interest in sewing... yet her fascination with the patterns and colors of old Amish quilts led her to stitching together colored paper in amazing geometric designs... in spite of everyone around her insisting that she "couldn't do that" and it was "not a useful thing." Still, very creative-- and beautiful art.

And then there was me and my intricate geometric drawings, which I had been seeing inside my head for decades... and were one of the few things I felt adequately able to express outwardly.

The takeaway for the three of us-- and the takeaway I'd like to pass along to anyone reading this-- is to not allow other people (and societal convention!) to dictate to you what constitutes "creativity" and "art." We are each individuals, and just because someone fancies themselves an "art expert" or are the curator of an art gallery of note... does not make them the universal authority who gets to tell you what is-- and is not-- "art."

By all means, listen to what they have to offer... but take it for what it is (an opinion), and not as fact.

Thank you for reading! Red Dragonfly is a proud member of the @sndbox creative initiative.

The Red Dragonfly is an independent alternative art gallery located in Port Townsend, WA; showcasing edgy and unique contemporary art & handmade crafts by local and worldwide artists. All images are our own, unless otherwise credited. Where applicable, artist images used with permission.  

Sort:  

Great article-confession! ;) And I totally agree with you! Each person is unique and unrepeatable and art created by as well.

Thanks!

Perhaps artistic "boxes" can be useful as teaching tools ("this is cubism, this is impressionism...") but it seems counterproductive to start pushing people to fit into them. At least... it took me quite a while to climb back out of mine.

I didn't get along with my high school art teacher. At all... Haha... What a headache that was for both of us...

My high school teacher was pretty much a figural traditionalist... but he would "tolerate" abstract as long as it was TRULY impossible to tell what the creator's intention was. His suggestion to me was to "go be an architect."

If I wanted grouchiness, I could rely on my mechanical drawing teacher. What a coffee-breathed, bitter little weirdo! XD

This resonates with me a lot! Creativity is within, and it's difficult once it starts getting analyzed or "heady" because it's so innate.

We should find a way to collaborate!

Art and creativity somehow becomes "less" to me when we start putting up fences around what it "should" and "should not" be... and that becomes stifling, quite quickly.

Exactly, no one can dictate what constitutes art and creativity. Moreover, no one can dictate how to interpret a work of art, not even the artist him/herself.

It's a bit like the whole "beauty is in the eye of the beholder" thing... there's really no rule for experiencing a piece of art. Are you moved by it? Are you not? Simple... and very individual questions.

Be the authentic version of yourself because that's what matters most.

It is, indeed. And that becomes easier with age and experience, as well... when we are very young, we tend to be more impressionable.

Good to have you back!!

:-) @roused

Thanks! Just trying to play catch-up now.

all world is natural art!

I agree with you 100%!
Thank you for this wonderful posting. :)

Isn't it amazing how much impact societal definitions have on our we see ourselves?! Even if we believe that we are the ultimate authorities of ourselves, it can still be a real challenge to move aside those messages we've internalized in favor of our own truth. Nice post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58110.30
ETH 2687.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30