Art and Creativity: Inspiration Doesn't Happen on a Schedule!

in #art7 years ago

Over the years, I've seen all sorts of advice about how to keep one's creative groove going.

There are many recommendations suggesting that "it's important to write/create something every day."

Advice and Reality Aren't the Same Thing!

VaporTrails
Vapor trails at sunset

Whereas that's nice-- and potentially a good ways to keep yourself from falling into a creative stupor-- the fundamental truth is that creativity doesn't happen on a schedule.

There are days when I wake up and feel like I can create interesting work all day long... and there are days where I'd just as well crawl back into bed.

Sometimes, it goes to extremes. I remember "that one day" (as a writer) where I just caught a wave of creativity and managed to write 13 complete articles-- over 15,000 words-- in a single day. On the "art side," I once painted for 17 hours straight and created over $2000 work in a single day.

But that doesn't happen very often. And it's certainly not something we can count on.

Going With the Natural Flow

Although we may not always be able to "afford" to, I prefer working with my natural flow.

PineCone
Green rolling hills? No, the scales of a pine cone, in extreme close-up

The thing is, "forced creativity" has never worked very well for me. When writing, what comes out tends to sound mechanical and trite... or it seems "second rate" if I am working on art.

So what can we do?

I find it's best to just engage in "busy work" when I am not feeling very inspired. Which-- conversely-- means I don't waste time on busy work when I am in a creative frame of mind.

Again, some may argue that this is not "possible," but I tend to look at these ebbs and flows as a sort of "honoring" of the creative spirit. We want to do "our best," so it only makes sense that we engage in our most important creative work when we are AT our best.

Yes, there is "common sense," and I totally honor that. But common sense and creativity are not always good friends... we have to find balance.

LET'S DISCUSS! How does creativity work for YOU? Are you pretty much equally creative all the time? Or does your inspiration come in fits and starts? Do you use any "methods" or "strategies" to try to even things out? Do you work at creative things (writing, art, music, etc.) even at times when you "don't feel it?" Please leave a comment!

The Red Dragonfly is an independent alternative art gallery located in Port Townsend, WA; showcasing edgy and unique contemporary art & handmade crafts by local and worldwide artists. All images are our own, unless otherwise credited. Where applicable, artist images used with permission.   

Sort:  

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be resteemed. Good Luck!

Thank you @m31 for taking the time to read and comment! I appreciate the kind words and the opportunity... I have seen some of the @ocd compilations from time to time (I am already following), and it's consistently good stuff. Thanks again!

I go through my days problem solving on the regular so I'm constantly lead down creative paths. I think as long as you're able to exercise the mind then new ideas form quite frequently.

I've generally not had too many issues with "blocks," but some days there's just not much in the creative box.

That’s when we learn to become like squirrels to slowly collect and wait.

I can totally relate to this. sometimes, I forced my self do things but it's not as efficient as when i really want to do .

Right, precisely... we CAN do it, but it just doesn't feel right or natural.

Awesome... found you in the latest @OCD post.

Thanks for letting me know-- it was cool to get included there!

I agree :) Sometimes people put way too much pressure on themselves and it's a pity because I think that is counterproductive! Upvoted, plus my immediate follow! Great article :D

Sometimes an odd thing happens: I'm trying to come up with something to write about (for example) and drawing a blank. So I just get up and go work in the yard for a bit (for example)... and suddenly ideas strike, out of nowhere. Sometimes the best thing we can do for ourselves is simply to "break state."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78