Art and Creativity: Art is ALWAYS a "Necessity!"

in #art7 years ago

Whatever the "official" reports might be, those of us who live our lives at "street level" realize that these are somewhat difficult economic times. 

Celt
Detail of "Celt" an original oil painting by Jacqueline Chisick

"The Economy" might be doing well, but individual people's economies, not so much. As a result we often hear people say that they are art lovers, but they can't justify buying art because "art is not a necessity." And during challenging times, one should only spend money on necessities.

On the surface, this makes some degree of sense... but when we dig a little deeper, I tend to end up with the question of what really constitutes a "necessity?" 

Do we truly need to define "Necessity" purely as something 100% functional and most likely consumable? Or is that taking a definition to extremes that actually do us a disservice?

What is a "Necessity?"

We can probably agree that the very basics such as air and water are necessities, and we can say the same about food and shelter. 

Timelapse
Detail of "Timelapse" an original watercolour painting by Braden Duncan

But we soon get into a gray area: Is the 47th app subscription for for your smartphone at $2.99 a month really a "necessity?" Especially when you only use it three times when it's brand new... and then forget you have it? 

If we get a little more specific, is the 54th pair of earrings you'll wear twice a year more of a "necessity" than a piece of art?

Consider this: Humans have adorned their walls with paintings and filled their spaces with decorative objects for pretty much all of history-- going all the way back to our distant ancestors living in caves.

The Longevity of Art

Hansen
Original 1913 painting by Sigvard Hansen (Danish); from my grandfather's collection

The magical thing about art is that it offers us lasting moments of joy long after some of our temporary (and generally consumable) "necessities" are gone. We must remember that it is impossible to put a "price" on the joy we get from having beautiful and meaningful objects of art around us... 

Consider, for example, a $100 dinner at a fancy restaurant-- which will leave you with a memory-- and $100 spent on an emerging artist's original drawing, which you will enjoy for a lifetime.

When I was a small child, we would regularly visit my grandparents' house and while the adults were busy with their "adult things," I would be set down with books and jigsaw puzzles in their big living room-- what used to be called the "smoking room"... where the walls were also covered with dozens of paintings.

Glass
Detail of a unique blown glass goblet

As often as not, I would end up spending hours just looking at the places and people portrayed... and letting my imagination go to work. My grandfather was a collector of Danish "Golden Age" paintings, which also meant there were not only Danish pastoral and street scenes... but also scenes from Italy and Greece where many of the Danish painters would spend the winters when it was cold and snowy in Denmark.

So there I was, as an otherwise bored 7-year old, and the art on the walls served as a "necessity" that not only "transported" me, but kept me entertained. What's more, the paintings educated me and fired my imagination... and gave me a life-long foundation for appreciating creativity.

Fast Forward... 50 Years

As an adult, some of these paintings now hang on our walls... and remind me not only of my grandparents, but of my childhood. Much as we might like to think otherwise, we generally don't get to associate such memories with "functional" things.

Painting
"Girl on a pier," original oil painting by Peder Mønsted (Danish), 1892

I grew up in a house filled with all kinds of art-- and I feel certain that these early impressions led to my adult love of things artistic and creative. I also know that my parents' love of art contributed to a life in which I have often chosen to "go another year without new shoes" in favor of adding a new piece of art to our collection. 

But why does that lead me to perceive art as bring a "necessity?"

I believe art tends be both calming and mood enhancing. Imagine your home with bare walls... a bit depressing, don't you think? 

As humans, we constantly look at our immediate surroundings; finding beauty, or points of interest, or patterns, or something else in our field of view helps us not only calm down, but it also stimulates our minds as we reflect, imagine, consider, reminisce or wonder. 

That's what art does. It makes us feel things.

And that's why I consider art a "necessity." What do you think?

Thank you for reading! Red Dragonfly is a proud member of the @sndbox creative initiative.

The Red Dragonfly is an independent alternative art gallery located in Port Townsend, WA; showcasing edgy and unique contemporary art & handmade crafts by local and worldwide artists. All images are our own, unless otherwise credited. Where applicable, artist images used with permission.   

Note: a shorter version of this post previously appeared on our blog at https://reddragonflypt.blogspot.com/

Sort:  

What a lovely read! As an artist, art is necessary to me as an act. I need to make things.

Art is also non-verbal communication. It speaks to heart directly and, as you write, makes us feel things.

Thanks for stopping by @kittyandcheese!

I would say from the artists' perspective, art is definitely a necessity; in a sense art is life.

A very beautiful picture @reddragonfly! you do a very good job, thanks for sharing my friend...

Art is very attractive subject.thanks lot for sharing these with us.

good post, I like your post ..

I need your support please visit my blog https://steemit.com/@muliadi
if you like my post please give upvote, resteem &follow me.
thank you, keep on steemit.

Truly breathtaking art pieces. I love every single one of them! And economy is the opposite of the meaning of the Latin word that it comes from. What they made us believe to be "economy" is a parasitical system destroying planet which is inherently anti-economical. And regardless of how the "measure" it to prove it's doing great, most people get screwed over it and getting poorer with every passing year. I say: FREE HUMANITY BY 2027 ! Peace & Love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79