I got ready for the Day of the Dead by Marrying White Jack With a Sugar Skull.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago (edited)

 Surprisingly, I am not about to share a fantastic cannabis strain find, or a jazzy piece of new glass, with an opening statement like that... (Yeah, it even surprises me.)

I do, however, happily and freely admit that some cannabis was seriously consumed while I created this folk art. 

I would like to give the herb and strain Super Lemon Haze credit, where credit is do, by helping to bring out some creative artistry that lurks somewhere in the recesses of my soul. 

Just to clarify, I'm not an artist. My skills are primitive at best but I had fun and I happen to think that's one of the best parts of creating something with your own hands and mind.

It started with "the search" for 3 of the best white pumpkins I could find without becoming stuck in the pumpkin bin. I'm actually "not kidding". It was tricky.

I chose 3 and set-out to create separate pieces of pumpkin art, not related to each other.

We have lots of Red Maple trees in this part of Canada, at this time of year. The maple leaf is actually part of Canada's national flag and it's 2 colours, red and white.

So, my first Jack o' Lateran pays tribute to my country.

I've called it: "With Glowing Hearts", because that line is part of Canada's national anthem.  

I started by hollowing out the pumpkin. Then I used a real leaf to trace a rough shape in the middle of the pumpkin and I cut it out. Then I took a glue stick and glued leaves all over the rest of the pumpkin.

Here's how it turned out:

Here it is lit-up:

I think it represents the glowing heart of my country and it feels really organic.

Minus the glue-stick, of course.  Other than that, every thing else in the equation grew from a seed or was produced by bees. (Even the candle because I use beeswax or soy candles in my home.)

My next pumpkin is a fairly toxic squash. Gold spray paint and the 50 mini white lights that I used, have a tendency to do that to a Jack.

I hollowed out the pumpkin. Then, I drilled holes in it with a hand held electric drill. 

(I admit it. I have a touch of O.C.D and some serious calculating and measurements were required in order for me to maintain my balance and peace.)

Then, the pumpkin received 2 coats of paint with drying time in between before I inserted the lights.

She's one classy gourd.  Here it is on the middle of my dining table, making a fabulous centre-piece:

My last pumpkin is my favourite. This is the one that really muddies the waters between Paganism and Christianity. She's the perfect blend of Sugar Skull and Jack traditions.

I started by hollowing it out and then, I cut the eyes, nose and mouth out.

Next came quite a few hours of free hand drawing and colouring with markers.

Here it is head on or face to face:

I really had fun with this one and it provided the highest amount of relaxation for me. (Pun totally intended.) Her name is Haze. 

All joking aside, where ever you find yourself this Halloween season, my wish for you is that you'll have some fun, celebrating and honouring the cycle of life.

Thanks for coming along on my journey with me. I welcome your comments and invite you to follow me.

RebeccaRyan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66507.45
ETH 3328.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69