Just finished a new drawing on Ray Charles.....It brings a lot of memories

in #art7 years ago

My father introduced me to many 50s 60s and 70s musicians. One of them is Ray Charles and he is one of my favorites from that time. There is one song that is kind of special to me "Sorry seems to be the hardest word". Not because it brings joy, but it brings sadness. The reason is that I haven't spoken to my father for 3 years after a fight we had. My father is one of the reasons I lost everything and almost became homeless. But I was a fighter and I didn't want to give up.

Today I have defeated my depression and I am living a free life with a lot of joy and happyness. I am still trying to earn enough to have my daily needs met, but I trust the universe that everything will be alright

This is the finished portrait


And of course the process from start to finish :)

First some very gentle lines to get the proportions

Then I'm shading up everything

To the final result that I'm satisfied with


I hope you like it :) Feel free to upvote and resteem. Follow me for more amazing art. Next up is a portrait of another steemer @mathajas

Sort:  

epic !!! great process shots and description ! did you draw this right off your imagination or use reference photos etc. ? how did you get that lighting/shadowing down and i am curious to know how long it took for you to make this ? awesome work again ! resteemed

Thank you :) I used a reference to look at and then just drawing what I see. It took about 4-5 hours but when I do this the hours just fly by like minutes :) Thanks for the resteem

good to know ! awesome ! all the very best ! will be following for more work ! peace !

The best part I found in your sketch was the glimpse of Piano in Ray's shades. Good detailing .

Yes that is a good one :) thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55