How to draw a motorcycle with a lot of details....tutorial with tips and techniques

in #art7 years ago

To draw a Motorcycle is not that easy. Usually they have a lot of details like this Harley Davidson V-rod and it takes a lot of time and patience. In this post I'm going to show and explain how I make a realistic drawing of a really cool motorcycle.

DQmYGDfwWe64v2N6VWnu8LwuL9v7JsS3VdhSGRyMyVG94JK.jpg



First I start to draw a sketch. In this one I started with the wheels to get a better feeling of where every little part should be. I use a lot of time because I want to get as much details as possible before I start with the shading. I try to get the main parts in the right place like the wheels, tank, seat and handlebars. When I got them in the right place and right porportions I start to draw the engine and all the small details in between. Patience is the key to get as much parts drawn before I start shading.

DQmSvdqK6P6u4BaWnR4usXumm1RHT9mx46caYJAyFohRGoq.jpg

When I'm done with the sketch I start the shading. I take every part of the photo and study it patiently. When you have a lot of details it's nice to take everything step by step. I start to fill in the tank, seat and engine area because I know it will take the longest time and it gets so much better when this part is well drawn.

DQmW9tLc1ACBCWYBGYn8v48gHejEiuS5VkSPQn477cVLwoH_1680x8400.jpg

The engine is the last part I finish before I go over the rest of the bike. I use a lot of small lines to get the effect of the cooling flense and I want to have my pen as sharp as possible all the time. Sometimes I even use a mechanic stift pen with the size of 0,5 mm. For all the shading I use 2B and 4B graphite pens.

DQmXygsucbPx7pvZRUw3Aj6y1J6oqP2JZ82N1KwgxGA4PEb.jpg

When I'm satisfied with the engine I start with th rear wheel. Here I'm not that precise in my drawing because its a bigger area and the details is less. But I still want to have a good result so I'm not sloppy. I try to get the fading and shades of the back tire as real as possible but I didn't draw the lines on the surface of the tire because I didn't think they looked good. When the back part is done I start with the fork and handle bar.

DQmNRkpswwBFayW4LqRVVGKeLY6PUTwPh8K2nzqRGKzXzBB_1680x8400.jpg

Now the bike is almost finished. I start drawing the front wheel an I start with the brake disks because they are closest to the eye and also takes up a big surface of the front wheel. There was a very ugly front fender in the original photo so I decided to create my own in this drawing. Like I said posts before, when the original isn't good you draw something better from your mind.



In the end I go over everything with a sharp pen to get the details even better. The finished drawing that I'm satisfied with you see below. I think I will create a background in this drawing but that I'll do another day :)

DQmeJF2y32G3U974KfuGvY9xjDtSto7XWenEDwypeKktkWm.jpg

DQmQ7KBQhaNcawSimwa53YLCEnCpGDM5reiPxoYTqdEJSWt_1680x8400.jpg

I hope you like this post and that it was helpful. Let me know what you think down below and don't forget to upvote and resteem.
Remember that everyone can draw. It's just how much time you spend to try to create it just as you see it. Nothing is wrong when it comes to art.
Stay creative and Steem on

Sort:  

@realitycartoon This is what steemit is all about. Thanks for the post. I love crypto if you would like follow me back please.

Thank you :) I'm trying to get better and write more in my posts, following!

Very cool creation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91