URBAN SKETCHING - PORTLAND WORKS, SHEFFIELD

in #art7 years ago

IMG_20170627_234806091~2.jpg

An old steel works converted into artisan workshops has made this a thriving hub for bespoke metal workers walking that fine line between crafting functional cutlery and fine art objects.

With the Yorkshire Urban Sketchers group we got permission to spend a sleepy Sunday at this fantastic centre of regeneration. A lot of the Sheffield Steel industry is now gone but it's been kept alive by the descendents of those original workers using a lot of the old traditional techniques.

The owners of the individual units have joined together as a collective to buy the Portland Works.

IMG_20170627_234640289~2.jpg

For this Urban Sketchers outing I decided to work in monochrome and use ink to recreate the grimy industrial architecture. A lot of the buildings are still being renovated and for me this is a very exciting place to sketch.

IMG_20170627_234713823~2.jpg

A close up of the above showing the texture.

IMG_20170627_234733691.jpg

I'd love to go back and do a big painting some time.

Sort:  

i like it. i need to do more urban sketching. it looks like fun. well done, i look forward to more content

Thanks, urban sketching is fun and particularly if you have a local group you can join. Even if not though, getting out there and drawing your surroundings gets you to see it with fresh eyes.

I like your portraits, you got a follower!

Awesome sketches, love them

Thanks man, and your airbrush work is stunning. I've always wanted to try painting with an airbrush. I had a makeshift one as a kid that you blew through and it spluttered paint everywhere. Not quite the same effect!

I've followed, your 400th follower no less.

Yes did notice that, thanks for the support :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rbennett from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This place looks so interesting and the sketches are great!

Yeah it was, lots of small individual workshops with craftsmen working away. Sheffield was famous for its Stainless Steel and it's knives in particular. These people are keeping the legacy alive.

I should get on my laptop and rewrite this post - it's difficult writing well on a phone!

I adore to find myself in that kind of atmosphere, it's a bit like setting foot in another dimension!
Yes, I don't enjoy writing on the phone either!

Hey @rbennett!

I know this is a bit of an old post, but I've just found it because I'm looking for Sheffield based Steemians..... are you in Sheffield?

If so there's a Sheffield steemit meet up at the end of the month. :)

Let me know, and I can send you the link with the details!

And awesome sketching btw!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56