Art Collaboration 2 - Glitch Art Vs Paint

in #art7 years ago

Screenshot_20170629-193310~2.png

A continuation of the art collaboration with @granturismo89

(See the original post - https://steemit.com/art/@rbennett/art-collaboration-painter-vs-glitch-artist)

Screenshot_20170629-193012~2.png

I've done a painting in response to the glitch of my earlier painting. I've found this a very challenging process as I am used to painting from life and not a 2d image. I started by blocking out the basic shape and getting down texture which I considered important to this piece..

IMG_20170629_142955227~2.jpg

IMG_20170629_153126480~2.jpg

Then I worked on the details of the figure.

IMG_20170629_161543352~2.jpg

IMG_20170629_163810901~2.jpg

I decided to leave it here. Whilst I love both original images I found this process very difficult and frustrating. I think my strengths in painting lie in painting from life and channeling emotion and passion into the creative process.

Sort:  

I think approaching art in a new way is bound to be challenging and even frustrating sometimes, but don't give up; these are the kind of struggles that make you get even better and learn new skills. As a musician, I just wrote, recorded, and produced my own album, and it tore me apart - but I grew so much from it and I feel very accomplished.

Thanks for the vote of confidence (and the resteem). You're totally right about challenging yourself being essential, there's a great quote from David Bowie

  • "If you feel safe in the area you’re working in, you’re not working in the right area. Always go a little further into the water than you feel you’re capable of being in. Go a little bit out of your depth. And when you don’t feel that your feet are quite touching the bottom, you’re just about in the right place to do something exciting."

I know I need to stride out further and also share daily, my successes and failures.

I gave your album a listen, it's terrific and amazing that you've played it all yourself (except the drums). It'll no doubt end up the soundtrack to a near future painting

Haha, yeah that quote is super relevant to me, I'm always writing and playing stuff just out of my ability because the things that excite me most are things I don't quite understand. Bowie's last album is so incredible, most of my taste trends contemporary, but his backing band was some modern jazz players who I'm very into, so I was a huge fan.

Thanks so much for listening, I'm glad you liked it! What was your favorite track?

I thought Blackstar was phenomenal, after a few records I didn't really click with this was up there with his very best. What a way to go out and makes his premature death all the more sad. It hit me in a big way.

Picking a favourite on your album is difficult cos it's like one long journey with all the crazy twists and turns. If forced though I'd have to go for Tony Danza Quotes for the sweet calypso? opening and the manic breakdown at 2 mins - that sounds like a 505 chip being tortured but is probably a guitar?

Yeah Blackstar is the kind of album that makes fans out of people who aren't already into Bowie. It's such a shame he didn't live to keep pushing further, cos I have no doubt he'd have blown my mind again.

Cool! That's an interesting choice, that definitely personally felt like my best song until the last couple I wrote (Specter's World and Summer Thunder). Yeah, that's a guitar, those are natural harmonics being bent with my palm on a floating bridge. I never thought of that intro as sounding like a calypso but I sort of see what you mean. Thanks again for listening, I really appreciate feedback!

Ha! I'm no musical expert, I mean I listen to a ton of music but I don't know much about theory or different styles. Calypso is probably the wrong name for the music I'm thinking of.
I've always wished I could play an instrument and make music - recording an album remains an unfulfilled ambition. So nothing but the highest respect for you and your talents.
I still think I'm going to learn to play my acoustic guitar, build electronic instruments and record the greatest album I've always wanted to listen to. One day...

Nice painting, my blog also about draw and art, would you like to visit it?

Thank you, JengKelly.
Took a look at you blog, very nice.
Keep it Up!

Thankyou sir^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43