Sort:  

Hey @raj808, I am a curator of the Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 23rd March. Your post will be awarded a 100 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server. Here is a link to a post explaining things: https://steemit.com/steemit/@nikflossus/tonight-the-23rd-whaleshares-curation-show-free-whaleshares-for-all-listeners

Thanks @nikflossus. I shall come along to listen to the show and check out the other posts also. Thanks for choosing my post :-)

@raj808 I am completely moved by your deep writing, story telling, courage and photography. I was actually feeling very depressed myself today and was surprised by your post's content mirroring my own feelings today.

When I'm drained of the will to create and inspired only to emptiness. It’s at these times, that I need an outward reflection of someone else’s muse, a coloured canvas to help populate my thoughts and find wonder in the dying light.

Such profound writing @raj808. I wish I could upvote you a thousand times for such a thoughtful and honest post.

I didn't have a great childhood either - some days can be rough. I used poetry to move through a lot of those feelings and I like how you described it as 'cathartic poetry' :) Your poem was quite beautiful though, not cathartic at all....deep and genuine.

Maybe being such a deep and sensitive/creative person predisposes someone to depression. We feel, therefore we are ;) I think a lot of very creative people suffer from this. I think a lot of creative people are empaths, too.

Hi @youhavewings. Thanks so much for your comment and meaningful response to my article and poem. It is hugely satisfying when I know I have really made a connection with someones experience through my writing. You are right in what you say I think, creatives tend to be prone to depression and I think again you have hit the proverbial 'nail on the head' in that part of this is because to be a good creative writer you need to have a certain level of empathetic temperament. I honestly feel that my underlying depressive tendencies are bolstered by feeling other peoples' pain too much. Both in observing the cruelties that our species visit on each other and on a more personal level in feeling for my friends. It's a curse and a blessing as I write fiction as well, and this emotional intelligence is a great resource for building realistic characters. However, it's all worth nothing when you're crippled by brain-fog that comes with depression.

I'm on an upturn at the moment and have started my routine of exercise and yoga which helps me kick the depression out of my head and the creative outlet that steemit provides is also a big drive to thrive 😉

I didn't have a great childhood either - some days can be rough. I used poetry to move through a lot of those feelings and I like how you described it as 'cathartic poetry'

I know what you mean and I have loads of poems, angry, sad and mad as hell which will never see the light of day lol. These are cathartic poems in that they are kind of like exorcising demons of emotion, working through the emotions when they are out of control. This is why I tend not to let anyone see them. To be honest the poem in this article was reasonably measured although sad in its tone etc. I edited it a bit and was hopeful and reasonably sure that it had artistry beyond the emotional aspects. Thanks again for checking out my article I am glad you enjoyed it. I have followed you and will check out some of your poetry 🙂

Yes, I feel others' pain, too. Very much so. I can also feel their joy. :) If you want to read one of my poems, "Girl in the Box" is about this very topic ;) It was a living poem written as I opened that box of cathartic poems and writings. It doesn't flow as smoothly as I'd like, but I didn't have the heart to edit it because it came so organically. The ironic thing is that the Steemit community gave that Girl in the Box her wings and I had named my acct 'you have wings'. It was pretty special how that happened :) Here's the link if you want to read it: https://steemit.com/poetry/@youhavewings/girl-in-a-box-a-living-poem

I look forward to reading more of your posts and am grateful to connect with such a talented human being ;)

Have a wonderful day, @raj808....enjoy your yoga and inspiration.

I checked out your poem @youhavewings and found it to be a really wonderful piece of poetry. I left you a gift in the comments section :-)

Very special gift, @raj808. Very, very special. Thank you.

I SO needed this right now. I'm really struggling to keep my head above water as those around me are really hurting with depression right now. I needed some outside perspective and especially like this:

The programming of the depressive subconscious has been built on layers of skewed perceptions, over many years, often strengthened by negative experiences. Through observation of something external, I find that I gain some perspective and project these ingrained thought patterns outside of myself for a time. This allows for an objective study of these perceptions without holding on to them, without seeing them as a part of me that cannot change.

I am going to try to look at things from an artistic perspective and get out of my own head. Thank you for sharing your wonderful thoughts and experiences with this. It is truly very helpful and just what I needed.

I'm truly glad that it helped with some inspiration for you @byn in maybe finding a new way to try and address those depressive feelings. Definitely try it, find some type of place or work of art etc that expresses something to do with perspective. Or look for these different perspectives in the natural environment and then see if you can draw comparison with how you perceive the object of focus and how you are thinking in your internal mind-scape. Quite often, I find, if I can project these feelings outwards onto something external, then I can study them with a little more separation. Sometimes, it can bring on quite overwhelming emotions but that's where I try and write poetry or prose or anything really to get the reactions out and on paper, again divorcing yourself from them a little bit to try and gain a new perspective. Take care and I hope things improve for you and the people around you x

Thank you. I do use my writing to distance myself from my feelings, issues and pain quite often. I'd not thought about using visual-art as well. I appreciate your support. Thank you.

This is an amazing 'exhibit' - I kept imagining walking up upon them... even one figure with barnacles and rust would be stunning! What more the thought that they are regularly submerged by the tides... I would love to see them all. I found from the link you included that there are 100 of them. Unbelievable. Negative self-talk or not, I love that poem, and how apt with the photographs and layout of this post. Thank you for sharing this. I will definitely look for this if I am ever in Liverpool. Many battle with depression... as you have described, it is knowing the tides and trying to keep one's head above water, time and time again. I wish you well.

Thank you @ackhoo. I'm glad you enjoyed the poem and the accompanying article, if you ever make it to Liverpool hit me up and I'll show you some of the best art places the city has to offer. + a guided tour of the Gormley exhibit. It is quite a sight :-)

The accompanying article too, definitely... I realised I didn't actually mention it! :D Sorry! First of all, I guess I was all excited about the exhibit and secondly, a little overcome by the sadness and darkness of the accompanying mood. It would be grand, IF I ever made it to Liverpool, to have a guided tour of the Gormley exhibit and shown the art places there... Thank you in advance, and for the thought... and offer! :) Have a good evening!!

"Art makes us react and we find a reflection of who we are in that reaction." Powerful words.

I saw your post featured at the Whaleshares Curation Show last night. Congratulations on that! Hearing you read your poem was especially moving. I'm so glad we were able to hear it in your voice. Your description of this installation is inspired and insightful and took me that beach. Thank you for that.

I too have struggled with depression for many years. It was a family thing. Only my sister who lives in denial was spared. ;) I have words of encouragement for you...for the first time, maybe ever, I am seeing more consistent light at the end of that tunnel. It is possible! I wish you all the best and encourage you to find what brings you joy, something I didn't even know I was capable of feeling just a short time ago.

Resteemed, following you and looking forward to seeing more!

Hi @samanthajbarnes thank you for your kind words, re 'the light at the end of the tunnel'. I know this article may seem to express depression as a constant struggle but there have been times in my life where I have been in such a good place that it hasn't been that much of an issue. However, it has always been bubbling under the surface and I think it is an empowering thing to recognize and realize that this might be the case for ever, finding the ways to deal with it.

I have become progressively better at this throughout my life and am making a major lifestyle change at the end of the year which I am pretty sure is going to help me move beyond it even more.

I'm glad you enjoyed the poetry reading on the whaleshares show :-) I love reading poetry out at poetry nights but get very nervious on stage with a microphone. For some reason this doesn't translate on the mic in the chatroom, it felt really comfortable and I enjoyed sharing my words in a more personal way.

Thanks for the resteem and follow, I am following you also and shall be sure to check out some of your blog posts :-)

Finding ways to deal with it are the key. For me, that came by consciously choosing a different thought...something soothing or even distracting. Engaging in something that would take my mind to another place...a better place where I could breathe has been quite an enlightening experience for me. Some days, that time in the "better place" was short but it was something! Gradually, I have found ways to stay there longer. What a gift I have given to myself! Be gentle with yourself as you go. You will learn so much and find that the power within you is far greater than you ever would allow yourself to imagine.

I'm so glad you felt at ease reading your poetry...you seemed to be in the zone. :) Keep up the inspiring work!

so lonely men, hi needs a company! Let's make more art objects next to him!

There are around 99 other statues to keep him company :-)

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thanks followforupvotes

Upvoted from the curation show!

Thank you @crystalpacheco30 I really appreciate that :-) Glad you enjoyed the post

wow, great place! I wish one day I could see them in reality!

Ha ha. I should try and organise a steemit tour of crosby beach... now just to convince @roelandp @abh12345 to host the next steemfest in Liverpool. Would you visit @prostosun? ;-)

I find your method very constructive and can be used by others for their healing journey. Thank you sharing your insight on this.

Thank you @roselifecoach, yes I was trying to be constructive when I wrote it, even though I was in quite a dark place. Like I was aware that outlining my process might/could help others and that gave me a great deal of passion and drive to make it a good article. The irony is that through the process of this self-reflection and elaborating on it in my writing, I managed to talk myself out of the worst of the depressive feelings. Ha ha, maybe I should write more of these style of articles but I like to focus on poetry/fiction/travel writing mainly. Thanks for checking out my blog :-)

I think it might help others with your writing. No need to fully focus on this but write it once a while, let it flow naturally from your mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68147.96
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66