Tomb Raider // Vector Art

in #art7 years ago

Lara Croft

ララ


Tomb Raider.png


What's up guys

Raizel here, and today I finally made some art in Adobe illustrator. It's been probably 4 years since I last touched this program, and all I gotta say is that this program is a freaking beast! I thought it would be more complicated than Photoshop, but I felt right at home using the program, and the more I dove deep, the more I began to understand it. It's similar to Photoshop but it's something more, and I've been having a blast using it. (▼∀▼) By the way, this project took me about 5 hours to finish, I don't know what it is, but vector art always takes a long time for me.


tomb-raider-1.jpg

Original Image

Image Source


Process

So I just used the above image as a base so I can trace around the edges with the pen tool. In the past I really hated the pen tool, but I think it's growing on me. (´⌣`ʃƪ) I also used various shapes to fill in the picture, which was the fastest part of the picture, the rest was just very time consuming. I think the most tedious part of this picture was trying to figure out on how to layer each shape together properly, so that I don't get that clipping effect or shapes working against each other. For the Tomb Raider text, I just used curve effect.


Desktop screenshot Lara.png

Layers within Layers, inception?!?!


Inspiration

I remember playing a lot of Tomb Raider 2 for the Playstation 1 when I was a kid. I use to play with my cousin's on a Saturday night, and I would watch them die a lot (lol), and speaking of deaths, the way you die in this game was very gruesome. Bears, Tigers, and wolves could kill you. The last thing I could remember was falling to my death on accident, and hearing Lara screaming, pretty crazy for a rated Teen only game back then. (゚Д゚;) I think the most creepy thing in this game was the waiter following me in the mansion. No matter where you went in the mansion, he would follow you forever, with his old man grunt sounds.


I was listening to this fan made sonic ost while I was making my vector art,
It's pretty groovy baby, give it a listen.

(〜^∇^)〜


Stay positive friends


Take care guys, until next time, peace, and thank you.

Have a wonderful day


Well, uhh, that's unfortunate.

Programs used:
Adobe Illustrator Cs6

Small steem banner Plus.png

Sort:  

See?! Pen tool is literally ❤️️. LOL. And Illustrator, although it's been years since I'd worked with it (now prefer Photoshop). 😂 Definitely love how your vector work ended up -- very smooth!

Thank you @erangvee, that means a lot to me. :) I'm definitely going to work on illustrator some more.

i myself have been lara's fan for a long time..

Congratulations @raizel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @raizel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55