My WIP Characters Made With Blender

in #art5 years ago (edited)

So much sculpting, so little texturing. That's what I've been doing this past few months. The good thing is those were some good practice. The bad thing is most of them ended up in the garbage can. The worse thing is I spent little to no time in other area of 3d modeling workflow such as texturing, let alone learning animation. 

Like this deep diver guy right here. I worked on him for weeks only to move to another character until I forgot about this diver dude. He's Johnny Topside, by the way. The player character in BioShock 2. Make no mistake, this is Johnny Topside, not Subject Delta. This fanart is about the character before he's turned into a Big Daddy. I know we never knew what Topside look like canonically, so this design is from my own imagination. 


If you think it's unfortunate for Topside to be forgotten, meet this guy:
Before you continue reading, guess what character this is.


"I used to be an adventurer like you, until I went blind all of a sudden."

Skyrim! If you played the game, then you probably guessed right, since it's not yet textured. This is the Whiterun Guard. One of those poor guys that you shouted, stabbed, electrocuted, smashed, and shot just because you were bored. I was having difficulty of making the helmet so I did what every Skyrim player ever do in the game; put a bucket on his head. 

 And here are the new characters I left those untextured guys for. The one on top is my latest character and is not a fanart. So yeah, she's one of my original characters that is the first to get a physical form, yaaay! The one on the bottom is also my original character named Ico. 

These two characters were made without reference images, which was a mistake because it took me longer than I expected to work that way.  

Making character is my favourite thing to do in 3d modeling, but I only realize that now since I browse through my files and all I see is character A, B, C, D, Z. So yeah, I realized that I'm more into character creation than some other things like weapons, level, landscape, etc. So maybe I'm a beginner character artist, then? I'm not sure how that will be good or bad for me as an artist. 

These are only 4 of some other WIPs that I'm currently working on right now. I'm trying to be quick about it but also not being hasty. I have my share of finishing one render so hastily and then regret the result, a lot. Maybe I'll share the other ones next, but until then, thank you for visiting and I'll see you on the next one!



        


©2019 Adam Rainite Lawsone
Sort:  

Keep up the good work. One of the frustrating things about creative endeavors is that you can feel really unproductive after the amount of time you've invested doesn't yield as much content as you'd like, but the stuff you have here looks fantastic and I know you'll have more great stuff ahead.

Thanks, I will! ^^
Yeah I think maybe that's my problem. I couldn't finish one project quick enough and by the time it's already been 2 or 3 weeks I step back and realized how little I have done in those times. Gotta be fast!

Congratulations @rainite! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello @rainite, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

A great model doesn't need textures. So how do you like blender? I'm a zbrush guy... but in hearing really good things. Your stuff has a lot of life.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! ^^ I'm still a beginner so I don't know how to make a texture-less model to look great. But I'm learning. I really like sculpting in Blender, the brush options are not as much as ZBrush, but it's kinda cool to know that with such limited tools anyone can make models like these and better.

But it's not like I'm a 'Blender loyalist' or something like that xD I decided to use Blender because I can't afford the other expensive software at the moment. I plan to get ZBrush and learn it too, and some other packages for 3d modelling workflow as well. But in the meantime, I'll master the tool I have in hand :)

That's what I'm saying. Blender has gotten so good, that despite having zbrush (bought zb with some oz my first art money :D it was a proud day), in considering learning blender. I beat its gotten that good.

I need to practice my modeling as well. My daily art goals are a dual edged sword here

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00