My First Render: Weighted Companion Cube

in #art6 years ago

Me. Self-teaching myself in doing some difficult thing such as 3D modelling. And actually make a progress... what the fuck? 

After a couple of "For Beginners" tutorial videos, 30 minutes of arguing with my negative, demotivating thoughts, 15 minutes of searching for inspiration to get me started, which then resulted in me getting lost in the captivating arts scattered around Pinterest for another 15 minutes, about 10 minutes of procrastinating, 114 mg of caffeine, and roughly 2 and a half hours of doing the actual stuff while listening to Portal end credit song 'Still Alive' over and over, I finally managed to create this...

In case you are wondering, that is something I made in Blender. My first render. Nothing special, nothing spectacular, and using only the basic 3 point lighting. But I'm proud that I have move 1 step ahead in 3D modelling. 

Though it's not particularly interesting, the Weighted Companion Cube was the perfect thing to model for me as a beginner. It's simple, symmetrical in every angle, and trustworthy. Unlike GLaDOS and her stupid cake. 

Here's the gif of the modelling process of my simply titled "Weighted Companion Cube" render. 



The magic of boolean.

To make the outer part look as it is, I used boolean operation on the middle to make the circular cut around the heart circle as you can see on the gif to the left, and then bevel the edges to remove its pointiness.

I was so surprised on how nicely I can make it. Because as you can see, basically everything is a cube. Everything starts wih a plain, boring cube and I didn't know how to make anything out of it. Imagine my envy when I go to ArtStation and see all those hi-res super cool character models and shit.

Then I tried to make the scene look more interesting without adding too much things by duplicating the Cube and change the appearance a bit, tweaked the lighting, which could really use improvement there, and by making the heart texture emits light. The result looks like the scene has more story to tell. 

Anyway, good to be back. And please don't be so rough on me, Steemit artists, I'm still an apprentice here. What you see is someone who make a really small progress with the hope of becoming a pro in CG.

No no, not "hope", "aim" is more like it. 





Click the icons below to join some of the best Steemit gaming community on Discord, OP Gaming and Archdruid Gaming Community, where you can meet and hang out with awesome fellow gamers, help each other grow on Steemit, and of course game together.

                  

Sort:  

This is awesome for a first.

My first render was poorer than this and now, I seem to have forgotten all the basics.

Thanks!
Everyone has to start somewhere. I gave up on Blender many months ago before I could even render anything. I didn't even know how to extrude properly.
If you're still interested in learning Blender, I think this is a good time, before the hyped 2.8 come out.

Your amazing content has been upvoted and resteemed by @SteemEHQ. That's what we do! Follow us if you haven't and please join our Discord to point us to other great posts.

Thank you!

Hello @rainite, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Ooh thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64778.13
ETH 2531.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68