Work in Progress - The Great A'Tuin - Tribute to Terry Pratchett

in #art6 years ago

Atuin Discworld.jpg

I started this the other day over an acrylic pour. It's missing a few elephants and a discworld as yet, but they're coming.

For those of you who do know, it's going to be a tribute to one of my favourite authors, the late great Terry Pratchett. For those who don't know, the Discworld series by same exists on a flat-earth world on the backs of four great elephants, who in turn, stand on the back of a monstrously huge turtle, named A'Tuin, who swims through space doing whatever turtles do in space.

I haven't read too many since he passed away, a couple years ago. Maybe four of them. I grew up on Terry Pratchett. He meets the shortlist of bigger influences in my young life. Right up there with Lucy Lawless from Xena, Warrior Princess, Bruce Campbell as Atolicus, King of Thieves and Ash in Army of Darkness, the Animorphs book series, the Mr. Men book series. Maybe not all in that order. Oh, and Sliders too, of course, with Jerry O'Connell. And the Outer Limits. And a lot of weirder programs/books out there.

I don't know if it was that I was drawn to weirder stuff naturally, or if that's what formed the first kernels of my stranger outlook on life. Maybe I was already weird and just found my way into a feedback loop.

I don't know, but I love it. Weird people are the spice of life.

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

Can't wait to see the finished painting @rachelsvparry, i'm a big fan of Terry Pratchett too. Nice to see some art relating to his work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.38
ETH 3379.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47