To the Show! Exciting. "The Silence of the Bob"

in #art7 years ago

RSVP - Silence of the Bob.jpg

This show is the first official show of the year for me. As I have mentioned, I regretfully won't be able to make the opening, by I highly recommend it to anyone in Toronto this Friday night. The doors open at 7, and the address is 1684 St. Clair West. The Artusiasm family is so friendly and welcoming, you will leave with good feelings, and probably new friends if you so choose. They serve delicious food, usually cheese selections and samosas.

The theme is "Figuratively Speaking", edged towards portraits, but open to many different interpretations. I'm trying best to choose figures speaking figuratively. This piece, of course, is of Kevin Smith, that I've painted as a parody of the cover of Silence of the Lambs. It's not a very deep figurative image, but I thought it an accurate representation of Kevin Smith's clever cheekiness, how often he references other popular culture items in his works.

I have a pile of books to my right that part of my daily ritual include reading through tiny bit by tiny bit every day. I'm anticipating a copy of one of K. Smith's books next after the one I'm working on now. The other day I finally finished the second of two Terry Pratchett Discworld books (The Colour of Magic, and Small Gods) and now I'm working on the Diary of Marie Antoinette, a historical novel with some artistic license.

Speaking of, I'd better get to that.

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

I immediately recognized Kevin Smith hahaha this one is so funny Rachel! Thanks for sharing.

Thanks so much, @siucatti! Lol! I'm glad you like him! My pleasure to share, as always. :D

Excellent work I liked it so much I wish I could continue your work on this as I will give you all the support I hope you will support me if possible Thank you for your time

This guy reminds me of Jay and Silent Bob movie.
I have a feeling that I've already said that before and also saw that picture hmmm... deja vu? Are we in the matrix...

I hope he does! He IS silent Bob! Haha! Probably it's come up before. It's not the first time I've shared this piece. :D
Maybe we ARE in the matrix, though........

Love Kevin smith! Your painting is awesome - I had a show a few years ago that I was nominated to participate in - It was a ton of fun - Good luck at your show - I am sure it will go splendidly!

Hey @j-vo! Thanks so much! That's really cool. On a show by nomination? That must have been a blast. :)

Thanks again!

Hello Rachel ,
This is kind of a funny artwork ! :-) I like it !
really cool.jpg

Hi @agneslaczo! Thank you much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62974.52
ETH 2679.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55