The Tragic End of a Fairytale. New Painting.

in #art8 years ago

I just finished this one yesterday! It's mostly new, anyway. The bird was already on the canvas from a piece I had made about four years ago. Sometime late November of 2012, my Grandpa's house burnt to the ground in Winnipeg, with himself and his partner inside. I made a few pieces with birds and fire in them afterwards, including what this used to be.

Just to describe, this was once two layers of birds, the far away higher layer in the sky were burning. I called it Icarus Rising.

My memory of Grandpa was that he would take care of all stray and wounded animals. Especially birds. Since I only met him once or twice, though, my strongest memory is actually of playing guitar at our family reunion as he was leaving to go home, and having him lean into me with his bulgy eyes and say; "You're the only one in this family with any talent". I think he meant it as a compliment.

Anyways. Here is an homage to reality television. The quickest, most succinct devolution of people I can think of. 

16x20" Acrylic on canvas. Value of 475 cdn.

[email protected]

More stuff on my facebook page!

Sort:  

Hello @rachelsvparry,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that this post have been upvoted by Project Better.

The Mission of Project Better is to reward posts have many votes from Minnows but earn pennies.
Your payout is $0.003 before we vote on your post.

Learn more about the Project Better here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

~BETTER~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59