The Elephant's Trunk Nebulizer. Acrylic on Canvas.

in #art4 years ago

Elephant Nebula Vape.jpg

A couple months back, I paid a visit to Mikey's favourite vape shop to pick him up some juice. The owner of the place is someone I've talked to about hanging art before. Initially, he was very much into the idea. We agreed to a commission deal from anything that sold from the walls, but I didn't hear back from him.

Well, this last visit, I found out that Ontario's health advisory had billed a new law about artistic representations in vaping. Apparently, you can't use animals or cartoons in any vape decor or packaging, as that would feasibly attract underage people toward addictive substances.

Well. That explains why I can't stop obsessing over the many flavours of roadrunner, and why I live in a sewer with a martial arts guru rat dad eating nothing but pizza.

Just think how free from problems I would be if not for those goddamn Thunder Cats.

I painted this piece afterward. It was one of the ones that came to me in a flash but never left my mind. I know I have something good when it won't leave. I'm sure everyone experiences that sort of epiphany in some form or other. The glorious opposite of that frustration when you wake up from a dream with something beautiful in your mind thinking, I couldn't possibly forget this, only to wake up once more and find it gone. Only the memory that you HAD a great idea remains, like the stain of the best meal you ever ate on your shirt.

I think I stumbled on one of my visions this morning while doing my daily reading. I'm rereading the Kalevala right now. Highly recommended to anyone who loves mythology. If I make a good enough pre-sketch, I'll share it.

Until then, let's all stay safe, and curse the name of Bucky O'Hare, that green rabbit captain who made me think I could spend my adulthood fighting space toads. Fuck you, Bucky.

Sort:  

Good to see you posting again! Have you checked out Hive yet? After a steem fork two months ago majority of users and curators migrated there. You can login to your account with the same keys as on Steem. It's on hive.blog or peakd.com.

Thank you! It feels good to be sharing here again. Thank you for the welcome back.

I haven't checked out Hive yet! I missed that update! I'll check it out tomorrow, certainly. Very much appreciated. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99