Sad Attempts at Romance.

in #art5 years ago

Stained Class, Vicki Peters tw.jpg

Yesterday, I did spent quite a bit of time working on a new piece, but I'm still only at the canvas-preparation stage. The linen I stretched it with is very coarse. I want it to be smooth. But this was closer to the end of the day. I might get as far as tracing the piece out tonight, whether or not I'm on duty for childcare.

Mikey got an order for a brain cap - a little project he'd put together pre-halloween, but left the advertisement online. We made this rush order together - he coated it with silicone caulking, to look like brain tissue, and I painted it when it dried. We had this great idea. Deliver it to the buyer, then go for a wine-walk down by the lake. It was unseasonably warm last night. Much warmer than it had been in a long time. How nice!

So we got all the way to the festival of lights at the Exhibition, and sat down on a log bench in the middle of a grove of light-encircled trees when suddenly I saw lightning over the lake. And then it started to pour.

Did you know? Winter coats are quite heavy when soaked. As we walked all the way home in the pouring rain, we felt like we were weight-training. I'm sure I'm more powerful as a result. I kept our spirits up with my Axl Rose impression, singing a sequel to one of his greatest hits, Cold December Rain.

Mikey asked, "Whose genius idea was this, anyway?"
"Mine." I said. "I'm the genius!"

We trudged home against gravity, and now we are super sayans.

He made us some perogies in potato leek soup, and we watched the Ballad of Buster Scruggs, which was really disappointing for a Cohen bros film. And I worked on my canvas.

Which I guess I should keep doing now.

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

Your post has been featured on @artzone

Courtesy of @nmalove

You made me laugh, Rache :) Super saiyans !!! Hahahahah~

You have such an open and warm spirit, I tell you~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66251.96
ETH 3068.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70