New Painting! Sylvie Garant.

in #art8 years ago

Trying to end this three year curse of not having sufficient internet at home to post things daily. So I find myself, for this month, employed in an office. I feel like I'm wearing someone else's skin when I'm there. It's such a foreign environment. Sterile, buzzing with activity. So many... not fake, but strained smiles of people who have spent so long pretending not to be individuals so that they aren't accused of being professional that they've almost forgotten what it's like.

That's a weird feeling for me. I may be way off base, but everyone in the office is so... polite. So reticent to offer anything remotely like an opinion.

I had a nice lunch with a couple of the IT guys yesterday. I saw light in their eyes when spoke about life outside the walls. One of them had only been working in the office for a year, the other, I'm not sure how long, but I gather it's been a while. I'm 99% sure neither of them knew the other's hobbies until yesterday.

I guess that's the thing, though. If you're trapped in a space with people you have to spend most of your day with, 5 days a week, it's a gamble to get to know them. What if you realize you don't like them? Then you have to stew in your feelings for 40 hours a week. Nobody wants that.


So... back to art.... haven't had much time in the last while to make anything super new. I suspect I won't be able to do much until the end of February. Stupid February. Here's a recent one, at least.


[email protected] for sales and commission inquiries. It's not cheap. It's worth it.

Sort:  

Beautiful artwork! Enjoyed reading the little writeup in this post as well.

Thanks for sharing your story and craft! Very interesting and surrealist style of painting. Now following :)

Thank you, @voronoi! I have many series' of different styles, but this one has the warmest reception, I think. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59368.30
ETH 2461.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45