New Painting! HELLMOUTH.

in #art6 years ago

Hellmouth tw.jpg

My new scariest painting! I just finished it last night. I was going to airbrush the eye to be glowing... still might, but it's not priority. Down the road.

I've been watching a lot of the seasonal flicks, so this is right in the spirit of Halloween. I mean, not strictly traditional. This 'scary' stuff wasn't really the original design of All Hallow's Eve. I don't know any history beyond the vague mythological, which pretty much everybody knows. It's the night of the thinnest veil between the world of the living and that of the dead, so you're supposed to leave a treat for the spirits so that they don't do anything untoward to you or yours. Now the treats are just for our little ghouls, and how convincing the rest of us can look like anything else is competitive. Pretty much the most fun you can have in any holiday.

I'm going to be Freddy Mercury this year. It'll be great. I'm much shorter and curvier than he was, but whatever. I'm not really competing.

Here's the progress reports that I made along the way, so you can see how it came together.

Emily S Anglerfish Original.jpg

Hellmouth.jpg

Hellmouth 1.jpg

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

I love this one so so so so so so so so so so much

I love, LOVE, love the tiny hands <3 And the expression of the woman is incredibly horror <3 Gorgeous work, Rachel <3

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

nice work. Love it but maybe you should be a bit active with commenting other people's post cause your works deserve more appreciating than it gets. So, maybe commenting will help.

The development of her hand positioning was a very good call. Moving them from the sides of her head to her crown makes her look much more terrified, and they balance the work much better now.

Also, those tiny hands are so cute!! ...I wouldn't want them in my mouth, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57367.79
ETH 3098.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32