Happy New Year! Sold!

in #art4 years ago

Briar Rose 1.2.jpg

Happy New Year, friends!

Here's what I've been up to. It's not at 100%, but it's close enough at this point that it won't look appreciably different once finished. Best of all, it sold. Day before New Years. I found out after announcing to my friend circle that there was more than one person eyeing it for purchase, so I know I did right by this piece.

I'm very proud of it. So much of it came together from my imagination, instead of finding a million bits and pieces of reference material. I designed it. I used a few pieces of reference photography as inspiration for how bark looks, or how moss looks... But she's my design. The person whose face I used to model was especially disappointed she won't be able to buy it. I might have to make a few prints of this one.

I've also been working with a group of people on a little podcast we're about to officially launch on Tuesday. We had a Zoom launch party yesterday. My work won't show up until later in the season, but that's been fun. That, and getting back into automatic writing. Lots of ideas floating around in the old nog. Here's a nice excerpt from today:

"February cancelled. Fuck February. Stupidest month. Not even twenty nine days, most of the time. They don't make months like they used to. Why, back in my day, we made months out of things we found.I made a month out of moth balls and spit when I was a boy. I dredged a lake for my materials. Why we had a lake of mothballs, I don't know. But spit sinks, and that's a fact. Are you trying to explode? You shouldn't. Bad for the galbladder. Harsh on the esophagus. Gus is a name, short for Esophagus. Comes from the ancient Egyptian word "Esarcophagus". A hollowed out tunnel in the body for the means of self-preservation. People's faces had faces on them back then, too. That's why they made graves that way. Recognition. Names had shapes, and those shapes were largely cheekbone, eye socket, nostril, and chin-ass. So now you know. That's your history lesson. Follow me for more history. I wish we had cheese. I want cheeses. Glaring need for calcium. My bones lust for more density. But are they not dense enough? They are never dense enough. Diamond bones. For smashy smashy."

Not too many typos for solid typing, either!

OK then! Cheers, all!

Sort:  

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64302.59
ETH 2654.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83