Finished! Eat Prey Love pt.2

in #art3 years ago

Eat Prey Love pt. 2.jpg

Time has melted entirely away from me. I have no sense of it anymore. Everything has turned into 'now'. Even thinking about memories sort of feels like I'm floating in this sensory deprivation tank, and I see all the things that have happened, they're just a little out of reach. They disappear and reemerge at odd times, but when I see them, there they are again. Maybe I get glimpses of things that haven't happened yet, too.

Anyway, as usual, I've been busy and caught up in my own nonsense. I have birdhouses to share, finished paintings to share. Urges to complain about things to suppress... Or compress... until the pressure creates diamonds. Maybe even repress, so that they start coming back as bizarre ideas and strange fetishes.

All in all, I'm doing well. Both my partner and I got our second vaccinations last week, so we're on the road to immunity. hopefully! We've agreed to keep wearing masks for the foreseeable future. For our comfort also, but mostly for those around us.

Now, let's talk quickly about this piece. It takes place at the George Street Diner, which, if you're in Toronto, you should check out to see my artwork in person, and enjoy the food. It is legitimately good food. Owned by a friend of mine, and wonderful human being, Ash Farrelly. She's worked every day for the past year and change, surviving Covid. Any business I can direct her way, I certainly will.

She's just a delight. If you're in the city, go say hello, give her some support.

Mantids! They're fascinating creatures. I assume it's fairly common knowledge by now that the female tends to eat the male after (or during!) mating. This is the second iteration of a mantid dating piece. I have them at the diner, he's uncomfortable, sensing something's up. She's getting ready to add flavour to the real main dish with her hot sauce hidden under the table (Franks! She puts that sh*t on everything!). The jacket - is it his? A gentlemanly gesture to keep her warm? Or did she take it from a previous date? We don't know!

We do know that there's something terrible happening in the reflection of the window. On the inside of the room, we can see Saturn Devouring his Son (Goya(FYI, Ash's favourite artist!)). We can also see, just barely, the outline of a film crew worker reflected under the light. They're filming this monstrosity!!!! MY GOD! The humanity...?

The George Street Diner IS, in fact, a popular filming location. The photo I used for reference for the background was a still from a 2012 Daniel Radcliffe starring film called 'The F Word', which around the same time in the city, was a composite play of the same name about feminism with some heavy hitting pieces.

Those are your factoids about this piece for the day! It may be one of those I continually add little easter eggs to. We shall see! In any case, I will TRY to remember to post every few days. No guarantees, since I can't tell days apart very easily, but I do promise to TRY.

For now, adieu! Love to all of you. Stay safe out there.

Sort:  

As always it is really nice to see you around and to know that you were very productive and that kept you busy. Love this piece :)

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page or using tag #art-venture have priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57130.74
ETH 2551.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41