Colour Challenge Friday, Blue! "Quebec Log Road"

in #art7 years ago


16x20" Acrylic on canvas.

It was about this time of year, a few years ago now that we did our road trip to the east coast and I ran my plein air/landscape practice series, including this piece. I don't do a whole lot of it, but I'm glad I did. I think everything that stretches your capacities makes you better at what you do. I had intended a bunch of these to be backgrounds for my more traditional work. Some have. Some have been painted over entirely. Some, such as above, are still waiting for the right idea to come along. Or the right skillset. Or even, just the right client.

I told my class the other night that a painting is never finished until you decide it is. Sometimes it's finished for years before suddenly it's not. Sometimes it's finished because somebody with money falls in love with it as is and decides it's finished. We, as artists, don't ALWAYS get to decide.

I decided to share this one again today partly because I haven't participated in a colour challenge in a while, and because I need occasional reminders for myself to test range every once in a while.

Not only that. I feel a sentimental attachment to my memories of this photo. This is one of my more frequently used pieces of reference. I remember asking Mikey to backtrack so that we could go take pictures of this foggy side road, which turned out to be a really beautiful mini lake, completely obscured from the main road by a heavy tree line. The fog lifted as we were taking pictures, and we experienced a complete transformation of scenery in a matter of minutes. It's a neat memory.

This piece is for sale, finished or not. Finished, obviously, if it sells. :)

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook, Twitter, Instagram.

Sort:  

@rachelsvparry Thanks for sharing your activities with finding up and jogging. The 1st yrs tend to be the hardest. We are at our for six yrs non-halt.Carry on Performing at it. Perseverance and exertions tend to be the keys to results.

I don't understand your comment, @brittancassandra.

Thanks for sharing the story......i like your painting...

Thank you! And thank you for reading, @irwanumpal. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74