Another Year, Another Resharing.

in #art6 years ago

HBD2Ewe tw 725.jpg

Every year in January, I count up my shows and achievements from the previous year, add them to my CV, and adjust my prices accordingly. I didn't do too many things last year. There were more time-consuming, involved projects, but fewer overall. Each one represents to me one penny per square inch of canvas. This year, I added about 8 cents, which doesn't make a huge difference to the smaller pieces, but goes a long way with the larger ones. It's nice not to jack prices up, either. I'm not looking to alienate my clientele.

So I piece by piece, update my prices, encouraging people to act quickly if they want to pay as listed from last year for any particular thing. It seldom seems to matter. People go for what they want when they want it. Sharing my pieces again more helps bring attention to them again than anything else. It's a good thing. It also lets me gauge myself, where I'm at skill-wise.

There were a few pieces last year that I sacrificed for the greater good. There were more than a few that I upgraded. Some artists will say that's sacrilege, and that you should retain all of your work and let it be a flowing story of your journey.

I say, I've sold some of my early work, so that will hopefully continue to exist to represent the first steps in my career. Beyond that, storage space is finite. If a piece hasn't moved in several years, I should not assume that it suddenly will as is. If they don't move, they take up space. The ideas don't get destroyed when they're painted over. They still exist beneath whatever the next incarnation of that canvas is. There's technology dedicated to seeing beneath layers of paint. In my opinion, painting over a piece makes it a more interesting piece.

This one above has received a couple inquiries recently. I need to go visit it soon at the George St. Diner. You should too!

Now I'm off on a house-cleaning job. Talk to you all tomorrow.

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

I love this painting! :D You have an awesome sense of humor. My kind. :)

Your post has been featured on @artzone

Courtesy of @nmalove

That picture is hilarious and very well painted, Rache :)

I agree with you about finite space, and besides, it's not like the paintings underneath are lost... They are merely hidden :)

This is an awesome - and in my opinion - very original approach to art. The only constant in life is change, you seem to have embraced that in your art.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78