Work in Progress - "Jelly Fish Morton"

in #art7 years ago



A few times in my painting career, a piece had sold before it's been finished. I can't say this doesn't go to my head. I try to keep these thoughts from swelling my ego. I think I'm doing alright. This one hasn't officially sold yet, but it has two people considering purchase, which is pretty cool considering how rough it still is.

There's so much work to do on this one, but I have to wait for it to dry. Oil again. And then I want to add a bunch of coral on the right hand side. And add detailing to the jellyfish. And and and. And that WILL be a mug, on the top left of the piano's mantle. And some reflections in the piano itself. And.

But then, as per ego, I was at Art Battle last night, in support of my friend(s) and gallery owner of Artusiasm. For those of you not familiar with Art Battle, Art Battle is competitive speed painting. Each round is of 8 artists who are timed for twenty minutes to complete a painting. At the end, the audience votes on their favourite piece. After Round 2, the top two painters from each round go on to the third and final round. The winner gets a cash prize and will go on the regional finals near the end of the season. As for the paintings made, they are auctioned off by the end of the night, and the artists get to keep half of the money.

It's a really fun, daunting experience. I did it once a couple years back. I'd like to do it again. Anyway, the point of me bringing it up is just how incredibly well everyone worked under pressure of time and gaze last night. There were some truly beautiful works of art done in only twenty minutes. It's hard to feel too big-headed when there's just that much talent to recognize in the world. In this city alone, even.

My friend won last night! I'm very proud of her.

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook, Twitter, Instagram.

Sort:  

really cooll ! kind of dream like !

Amazing, I really like this.

I adore this painting. Maybe it's because I've played enough crappy pianos that the thought of throwing them into the sea is cathartic.

"Art Battle" sounds like an interesting challenge. I can't say I'd like to participate in anything like that - I'm intrinsically stressed by anything with a time-limit, maybe because my brain works kind of slow. But I wouldn't mind watching.

Wow.... That painting is amazing. The chappy piano, the jellyfish, that's an amazing combination of concepts.

Following you, I'd like to see new paintings everyday

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67292.64
ETH 3242.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64