Sketch Progression

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Sketch Progression


I will be painting a bear sculpture in the next coming months.  (It will be carved by another artist.)   I have turned in many different sketches (ideas) for what the sculpture will look like. I'm feeling really lucky to have been included in the design process, let alone be the person submitting sketches!  Wow!  However, the final design was decided by someone else, and throughout the process - some sketch ideas were selected, only to be turned down later because of different issues regarding difficulty in building them and/or cost increases due to those difficulties.  So - as the process went, some of my favorite ideas were dropped and I was instructed to make others.  The theme was narrowed down more & more.  

The last sketch (at the bottom) is the one that has finally been chosen - I haven't done a color version of it - yet.  Eventually I will be posting photos of the painting process - after it has been carved.  I just think these sketches are so cute, and wanted to share them.  

After the initial four color sketches I did - I was told not to put in so much detail/color in them, and to just do "basic sketches" and then add details/color later if it was selected.  There is one other one that I ended up doing a color version of because it was being considered, and I was requested to do a more detailed version - so that's why that one is in color.

None of the photos I took of the sketches are of very good quality.  And, for some the color was dim due to photographing them inside with bad lighting.  I have tried to alter some of the coloring in some of the photos using a photo editor.  (still not the greatest)  All sketches were done with pencil & colored pencil with fine black ink pen on some of them.

I was feeling somewhat resistant to the idea of having the bear carving a pumpkin. But, I am happy with the design that has been chosen, which is the last one - just above here. I like how the bear's foot can be seen coming out of the jack-o-lantern's mouth. I also am really liking the fact that it is a bear cub, and the bear will only be 4 feet tall. I am currently working on creating drawings showing it from overhead as well as from the side. Once it has been carved, I will be able to start painting it. Looking forward to it!!

Sort:  

upvoted and resteemed

Well done! Maybe you can get better pictures if you shoot under daylight opposed to indoor lighting? :)

Yes- some of them. A couple of them got drawn on (by other people) unfortunately. I didn't realize that I needed to NOT give them my originals. (oops!) But, yes - the rest I can re-photograph or scan. And, probably will at some point.

This sounds like an awesome project. Your drawings are lovely too.

wow! this is awsome! He is sooo cute ^^

Thank you! I love your roses & rose poem, too!

thank you so much :D I follow you now, looking forward to your next drawing ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76