Removing Graffiti from Mural

in #art7 years ago

Graffiti Removal on Mural


There are several beautiful murals (older & newer) that have been painted on the walls around Grants Pass, Oregon.  I love them, and often wish there were MORE, or  that I could paint on.  I would especially love to paint a mural with my father - hopefully some day.

But, I was very disappointed last week when I noticed that one of the murals that is on the wall at the Buona Sera Inn had been tagged with graffiti - red spray paint.  After driving by it for several days, I decided to do something about it.  I approached one of the owners of the hotel and offered to help remove the spray paint - for free.  I"m doing this because this is where I live, and I don't want to see this happening here.  They offered to pay me $50 - which I accepted, since it is still a small enough amount that I am still basically volunteering my services to help out.

I contacted someone I know at the Bear Hotel, where I had created my bear sculpture last year, to see if they had any ideas for how to remove spray paint.  They told me that when they have had to remove spray paint from the bear sculptures in the past, they have used Mr. Clean (Mr. Kleen?) "Magic Eraser Sponges."  So, I decided to give it a try today.

It is working, but will take me quite a bit of time.  So, over the next few days, I will do what I can to remove as much as possible and then I will re-paint the rest of it - touching up the mural.  This is my plan.  The hotel will be paying for any materials I use.

Here are the photos of before & after I tried out the "Magic Eraser Sponges":


I will re-post about this again once I am finished with this project.

Sort:  

Good intiative, that tag is definitely not added value... I hope you get a wall to do with your father one day! Me and my dad are both artists as well.

30  Thief of Heart  24.7.2009  mixe  57.74 cm ZZ team.jpg
This is a piece we did together

Oh, really cool! It looks like a collage? With some really cool paint spatter effects. Thanks for sharing!

Yes indeed, it's collage and acrylic paint :D

Over time I went more the digital route, these are the types of works I make now...

Flying Elephant small.jpg

Will definitely be following you for more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62094.48
ETH 2416.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56