My Robe (artwork & poem)

in #art8 years ago

Image by pyrowngs, created with color pencil & photoshop


I’ve had this robe for a while now…


I was wrapped in it years ago, after my mother died.

Peggy put it around me with love.

It is my blanket of knowing, understanding and creativity.  

It shines with all of my colors.  


All of them.    


But, you could say it is pink.  

I often think of it as pink, although it’s threads are constantly 

changing colors and glowing with the radiance of gemstones,  

and the facets of a kaleidoscope –  

changing shape & pattern.    


It is calming and uplifting.  

It is a blanket, but I wear it as a robe,  

with my thoughts and arms causing it to billow  

from underneath with purpose and pleasure  

and an air of radiance.   


It is always there.    

I haven’t taken it off.   


Sometimes, when I’m down, or forget –  

Peggy re-wraps me in it again.    

Or, perhaps I just remember that she did.  

  

I am getting used to it.  

I know it’s there, and that I can hide in it  

or show it off whenever I want.   

I think of it as a robe, or a blanket.  

But, maybe it’s really my soul –  

sparkling with all the colorful experiences of life –  

changing as I sift my way through life  

and this river of dreams.   


I look for my mother & Peggy to sit with me,  

comfort me,  

talk to me,  

hold me & wrap me in my blanket again.  

But, they are busy playing in the wind  

and dancing across the sunset.  


Sort:  

It sounds like a magical robe.

Definitely!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81