Gave This Little $6 Table a Makeover

in #art8 years ago (edited)

I picked up this little table at a thrift store for a few bucks and turned it into a galaxy. This was done with acrylic on wood with a sealant top coat. I painted everything on my live art stream so I took screen caps from my broadcast to show you.

 photo Table_zpsmofogp8u.jpg

This is what it looked like originally.

 photo Table2_zpsfpwtlix9.jpg

I started out with a base of swirls in blue, magenta, purples, and black.

 photo Table_zpso84tz6vp.jpg

I then highlighted the swirls with bits of metallic gold.

 photo Table3_zpsfcnoktr0.png

After that I started working on the moon phase symbol. The hardest part was making it symmetrical.

 photo Table4_zps312tszra.jpg

Then I started working on the stars. I used a little sculpting tool to make individual dots and it took hours. I really love the effect though so it was worth it.

 photo Table5_zpsqfw1hslu.jpg

In retrospect, I kind of wish I had counted how many stars I added.

 photo IMG_6001_zpspo66w3oq.jpg

This galaxy technique is one of my favorite things to paint. You can just put your brain on autopilot and work on the stars. It does get tedious sometimes, but it is calming.

 photo IMG_5999_zpsg8usf5zj.jpg

This whole project took me two days to complete. I'm pretty proud of how this turned out and hope you all like it as much as I do.

 photo IMG_6000_zpsbnvg8d02.jpg

"If the Stars should appear one night in a thousand years, how would men believe and adore; and preserve for many generations the remembrance of the city of God which had been shown! But every night come out these envoys of beauty, and light the universe with their admonishing smile."
-Ralph Waldo Emerson

Sort:  

:O I love it!

Thank you, orcish :D

Thanks so much!

not bad!
great skills!

love upcycling - looks great

great art works :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54