Commemoratory portrait for a retiring man

in #art6 years ago

DSCN1527.JPG

DSCN1526.JPG

I recently got commissioned to help give this wonderful man a beautiful parting gift from his government office. Judging by what I heard about him, this portrait is well deserved. Doing this piece got me thinking about the kind of legacy I'm leaving behind, and how well I will be celebrated at that stage. As I have said here many times before, it's always the best feeling for me to be part of people's celebration.

Now to the art proper. Generally I used more of graphite for the face, hands and feet tie, and charcoal exclusively for the coat.

Progress shots

I did most of the face with graphite pencils, spare the eyes. This time I tried Kimberly and Derwent pencils with my ususal Steadtler pencils to see which ones I preferred using. It's a tough one but I think I still like my Steadtlers more for now.

DSCN1452.JPG

DSCN1456.JPG

I used a lot of charcoal on the coat, I firstly layed white charcoal for smoothness, covered it with dark charcoals and blended, then brought out highlights again with white charcoal.

DSCN1471.JPG

Hands, ring and wristwatch details. This was a very challenging part, trying my best not to smudge while spending hours and hours doing the texture on the hands. Hands are freakishly tasking to draw!

DSCN1467.JPG

(Sorry for the poor quality) I used graphite pencils for most of the tie, except the lower parts where there's a dark shadow, charcoal did the honors there.

DSCN1473.JPG

Just some more charcoaling...

DSCN1515.JPG

Bam! Done! But was it? 😁

DSCN1522.JPG

To make the figure itself stand out, I added a light bokeh-ish backround just randomly.

DSCN1528.JPG

After spraying on fixatives, as I did here, I cut out an add an outline with a thicker paper to make the work stand out when framed

DSCN1530.JPG

There we were, ready for delivery like...Let's go make someone blush!

DSCN1543.JPG

Summary

Status: commissioned
Size: 35x25 inches
Medium: graphite and charcoal
Duration: 80 hours

Thanks for sharing this moment with me, kindly upvote, comment or resteem! Follow me on Instagram to see more of my works.

PEACE

Sort:  

This is absolutely brilliant. Very impressive. The details are awesome. Thanks for sharing

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks a lot brother, I really appreciate it.

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
wdcys1ynrq.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60799.23
ETH 2640.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58