🌟ANTIQUE THURSDAY - ANTIQUE BRASS FIRESCREEN 🌟

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Antique Thursdays WORKING Cover.jpg

Happy Thursday, Steem Fam! For this week's Antique Thursday, I would like to share with you this amazing pierced and cast brass firescreen.

WhatsApp Image 2019-01-10 at 13.42.21.jpeg

It's just one of those things I picked up at an auction, ya know?! I have a penchant for anything shiny, and I know from past experience that beautiful fire screens sell exceptionally well, so, how could I not, ya know?

WhatsApp Image 2019-01-10 at 13.41.59.jpeg

The faces and suns make me think it is very old - Louis the 14th - but that would be very old and precious and I would surely know that - the auctioneer would surely say so. Nothing was said, so I assume it's a new reproduction piece, but still old, as this kind of thing is not common nowadays. I'd easily place in the early Victorian times, as the French loved a bit of glam back then.

One day when I'm big, I want a huge fireplace in my home, with dark walls and over the top paintings... like this:


source

Or, more like the room Mrs Malfoy meets Snape in, in the Half Blood Prince, when Snape makes an Unbreakable Vow. Harry Pothead fans will know what I'm talking about. 🤪

What do you think of such over the top, ornate pieces? Do you LOVE them? Or do you think they are a big NO?!

footer.png

Sort:  

I want a huge fireplace in my home too, but with soft pastel colors on the walls.

Have a great day for you.

oooh, pink maybe? I'd love a grey room with lots of white marble! FANCY!

Oooh, pink maybe? I'd
Love a grey room with lots of
White marble! FANCY!

                 - princessmewmew


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I love them and they bring back memories of a couple of the old houses some uncles and aunties had I always loved there fire place and fancy fire place guards, not as fancy as this one but still quite ornate, if i ever had a house with a fireplace i would want one ;)

My dream house wish list consists of

  • a pool
  • a hot tub
  • a smoker
  • a bbq room
  • a fireplace
  • the HUGEST kitchen ever
  • a biiig bathtub

LOL

I could go for most of those, but I could skip the bling Bathtub, but the wife may like that, and I would add a small photo Studio

I just love them. They are so unique. No two are exactly the same.

This one is a great repop if it is. It's so undamaged that it probably is a reproduction. But...

Thanks for sharing a bit of beauty from your life.

It has to be! BUUUT you never know, and there's no way to know either. That's the beauty of antiques x

How do you have it priced? If it's repop priced I believe I'd take a chance on it. I mean if I had a fireplace :)

I think this fire screen is gorgeous. I particularly like the faces & suns. I'm not typically into over the top ornate pieces...but this one I am totally feeling😍

Posted using Partiko Android

mmm me too! it's just FABULOUS x

I am glad to see you again on steemit platform with a wonderful post @pricessmewmew.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @princessmewmew! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 300 posts. Your next target is to reach 350 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This is beautiful, would love a bigger house to store things like this :)

hehe! Who wouldn't?

Hi, @princessmewmew!

You just got a 0.1% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46