⭐️ANTIQUE THURSDAY - A HOT AIR BALLOON CHANDELIER - TO LAY ON THE FLOOR?!?! ⭐️

in #art5 years ago

Antique Thursdays WORKING Cover.jpg

Happy Thursday, Steem Fam! For this week's Antique Thursday, I have, what is not technically an antique, but is so fabulous that I have to share it with you!

14709522_1786334721607845_1384924801734279168_n (1).jpg

This is a hot air balloon that my team made up in our workshop, from scratch. An absolutely amazing piece! The frame is made from brass tubing, and the "ropes" were hand twisted.

We recently sold it, and our customer requested that we have it made silver, which we did by electroplating it in a polished nickel finish. THEN, can you believe it, the customer asked that we extend and loosen the ropes, so it can lay nicely on the floor. WUT?

She bought it to display in the corner of a room... on the floor. Okay, then! I think it's a fabulously creative idea, but R50 000 (about $5000) is a lot of money to lay a light on the floor LOL!

We do as the customer wants though, and I must say, it did come out quite spectacularly.

Here's a little GIF I made of us testing the wiring. See how the bottom is laying a bit skew, so it can hang and touch the floor?

IMG_7720-min.gif

footer.png

Sort:  

I wow-ed when I look at the title. And I double wow-ed when I look at it. This is so so amazing an antique. No one could ever thought of the idea. Lovely. For the sake of decoration and to bright up the whole place, I think it is worth it. 😊🔆

ah thank you pretty lady! I appreciate your lovely comment

The overhead display with simply Fabulous as was the whole piece itself! A very unusual piece , so unique and over the top amazing! I know always in awe of somebody who can visualize how to make a piece from scratch. And then they do it!

It is a lot of money, but creativity does command a price.. when you want something I guess it doesn't matter what the cost is. Even if you are going to lay it on the floor. Lol

While I cannot visualize it laying on the floor and doing anything for me oh, I do applaud that lady for her adventurous thoughts.

Your gif is absolutely delightful! Thank you for sharing this wonderful peace with us and I had no idea that they have a challenge called antique Thursday. Is this a thing or did you just call it that? Because if there isn't one, perhaps there should be!

!tip

You are very right, it's such a skill to have an idea, draw it out and then actually make it! My team is very talented.

And no, Antique Thursday is not a thing... just my thing lol. I like to have a structure or schedule for my posts as it helps me to keep constant

Oh, you should start a challenge! I would join!!! LOL I think it is a catchy little thing!

You know you want to!!!

A gorgeous project indeed and so lovely and shiny, I love it.

thank you Petra!

Amazing and creative lamp! I wouldn't believe that it's all made by hand! This is real art!

thank you pretty lady! It is indeed made absolutely and 100% by hand.

WOW I love that piece so ornate and what a cool design, kind of surprised it was bought to lay n a floor but each to their own I guess

Yeah - each to their own lol! I was surprised to hear the client tell me this, but hey, what can you do!

as they say the buyer is always right, but to me it is such a shame to be displayed that way

That is a beautiful piece!! And if someone wants to lay it on the floor - so be it!

thank you so much! and yes, agreed! Just a strange notion!

Great team work and now? Whats next ?

and now, it goes to my clients house lol!

Blog about it when it makes his journey there.

Great work. And yes, sometimes customers lead us to a new view. lol

very true lol. Sometimes not a view I like, but hey, what can you do!>

🎁 Hi @princessmewmew! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Gentle Touch Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Amazing work it look so pretty

thank you. It is a beautiful piece

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98