Asking for help with my writer block :,(

in #art6 years ago

Hi there Steemians, Saint Gabriel here ;) today I'm making a post in order to ask for a little of your help, lately I've been having a bit of a writer's block, so far I haven't met many writers on steemit, so I'd like to ask for your advise in this particular subject @jeanvy @mctiller are among the people I´d like to ask, what's your process to beat a writer's block? Are there any good exercises to try? Is it something that you have to let run its course? In any case, I'd love to hear your opinions about it, thanks beforehand for your support, as thank you I'll include a comic page I've been working on with one of my friends :D if you like it, please comment and upvote
carlos-betancourt-pagina-21.jpg

Sort:  

@princemyshkin Writer's block can be a real pain in the neck especially if you're a writer who wants to be productive. I usually read a book or listen to classical music while imagining sceneries and what might happen in that scenery. It's essential if you write your ideas down so as to not forget them afterwards ^^. Or you could go to the net and search for writing prompts... I don't really know but it gets me inspired everytime.
For a follow up, is that your drawing? It's really great! I'm currently working on a comic myself, too but I think my illustrations are pretty beginner compared to this.

It's great that there are other literary blogs on this website. I usually thought it was just me writing stories here. I hope we will support each other as aspiring authors^^.

Shalom!

wonderful advice, thank you so much

Hello @princemyshkin! To deal with my writer's block, I usually listen to music or I look outside my window and imagine a scene. I also take a walk around my neighborhood and look for something to make a plot with like an object or something.

I have three idea elements that can help you write your plot: an old house, a diary, and an old key

You can combine these three elements and make it into a story.

I hope this helps!

By the way, the illustrations are so beautiful! I love it :)

thanks a bunch, that's definitely a great plan, I`m super glad you like the art, I made it with a friend of mine, I'll definitely write something up soon, please be sure to read it, i'd love to see your opinion

Thanks for your nice post with your nice content & image...

For writers block, I take Neil Gaiman's advice which is to always have several projects going on at once.

When characters stop talking to each other you go work on another project.

With this comics page, are you the writer or the illustrator? The illustrations are wonderful.

Thanks, I'm still learning illustration, this is something I made with a friend, I'm glad you like it, I also write you can say both things are my passion, BTW I'm really looking forward for the next short story contest :)

You have to push through it. Get a blank page - and write what ever is in your mind - get everything out - story related or personal - just do it. That being Said- your art is very good - insanely good Infact - would you be interested in collaborating on something?

thanks a lot! and yes I'd be more than happy to help :)

Are you on instagram ? I'm @e_m_Walker Add me if you are and we can talk about stuff there. All the best.

I get a break... 24hours max if I can. If not, I listen to moving music (whatever shakes your brain up)... or watch a movie about writers, journalist... But I don't stop writing, I put down whatever is on my mind, phrases, images, sentences, whatever... then I seat back again to it.

thank you so much, I'll definitely try that BTW your profile pic is gorgeous

Aw, thanks, dear!

The art here reminds me of Black Panther. Also, reminds me of Captain Planet. I draw too. I love your drawings here hehe.

thank you so much for your kind words, I'm so glad you liked it I'll post some more images soon

Apologies I have no tips about writer's block, but I would like to commend you for this comic page. Good flow, well planned scenes. Definitely drawn me into wanting to know what the story is about.

wow, your words really lift my spirit, I'm really glad you enjoy my work :)

I like this post brother
Dear Sir my post comments and upvote of your post comments and upvote will

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48