Penny Tray Project

in #art6 years ago

DE494126-3F99-4A1C-8690-1B6D0E3E435C.jpeg
I just got done making this penny tray. It took me 3+ hours to make. I first bought the tray for around $30. Then I got $25 in pennies from the bank. I then started planning out my design and came up with this one. I chose this one because I feel like it really stands out and I like the symmetry in it. I hot glued every penny down onto the tray. I had to find new and old pennies, because of the different shapes in the tray. I couldn’t use any pennies that were in between, in fear that they would look to closely to both sides. I had to make sure that I tightly packed each and every penny together also, to minimize changes in the rows of pennies the longer I went. In total, I used 880 pennies and about 15 short sticks of hot glue. In total, I spent about $40 so far. I also plan on putting an epoxy coat on top, to achieve the same look as glass on top of the pennies. The epoxy is around $20 for a large mix, you will have extra. I bought the tray at home goods. So in total, plan on spending around $60 if you want to recreate this tray. I will post an updated picture soon with the epoxy cost on top, it takes a couple of days to dry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53