Concept Art to Custom Tee - my design process

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit Community, Marten Go here with a long overdue self re-introduction photo verification and art post. I didn't realize it was necessary to do so but now with so many new steemit accounts opening and plagiarism running rampant, I understand why it's needed.

As you can see, I'm holding a very large t-shirt which was custom made for a client of mine on Facebook. The size is XXL. I make tees from S size to XXXL in Mens, Womens and Unisex. White is my favorite color to work on but I also enjoy working on black and some other colors too.

If you've been following my work in progress from initial sketch to coloring and mock tee design, I hope the short journey was worth it and always a big thank you for watching and reading my art posts. It's such a privilege to do what I do and in sharing my art, I hope that it inspires others to pursue their own artistic dreams and desires.


TAKEN JUST BEFORE MIDNIGHT SEPT. 5th, 2017

d.jpg

HOT OFF THE PRESS
(Heat transferred images + Vinyl lettering)
(Made on a Stahl's MAXX 15 Heat Press & Silhouette Cameo Vinyl Cutter)

4.jpg

Below is just a recap of my last five posts. The Chinese character, kanji on the sleeve is 戦 'ikusa' which means war, battle or fight. Initially, the sleeve character was 忍 'nin' as in one half of ninja meaning patience, endurance and stamina, but my wife, who is Japanese took one took and suggested 戦 'ikusa' instead.


MOCK TEE DESIGN
(Arranged in Adobe Photoshop)

samuraiVSninja.jpg

The detail work on the samurai was killer. I used to work as a computer animator / modeler for KOEI TECMO, a video game giant specializing in Ancient Chinese and Japanese action platformers, so working on these characters was right up my alley :)

The reason I altered the bottom leg of the ninja was after applying the color and realizing it just doesn't look good. It appeared comical, like a pose a ninja turtle would do. By having the leg extended, there becomes a sense of weight and power in the liftoff that carries through to the arm drawing out the bokken.


CHARACTER ARTPIECES COMPLETED
(Drawn and colored in Adobe Photoshop via Wacom Bamboo Pen Tablet)

katsumotovsninja_text_resized.jpg



The characters were inspired from THE LAST SAMURAI, Katsumoto played by Ken Watanabe and REVENGE OF THE NINJA, Cho Osaki played by Sho Kosugi. The client wanted the ninja carrying many of the traditional weapons and fitting them all in was quite a challenge because that ninja outline, that unmistakable black silhouette is at risk of being lost due to over cluttering of the body. Does that make sense? I've seen designs of ninjas carrying explosives, a multitude of blades, chains and accessories looking like a Christmas tree lol. It looks ridiculous, seriously... A ninja ought to look like a streamline, agile shadow with many concealable weaponry and a single sword as its merchant of death.

FINAL TEE CONCEPT

final concept.jpg



The job was draw a ninja looking like his bad-ass self... immediately, the image of Sho Kosugi popped in my head. Is there anyone else who fits the prototypical look of a ninja?... crickets... Didn't think so.

NINJA CONCEPT

ninja_wip_steem.jpg



Many greats to reference from in screen legends, Toshiro Mifune and Tatsuya Nakadai, however, from a modern standpoint, there is only one that stands out. Hint: he stole every scene he was in with Tom.

SAMURAI WARLORD CONCEPT

katsumoto_wip_steem.jpg



I hope you all enjoyed this post. It was a blast of a project and honestly, working on these characters and playing THE LAST SAMURAI soundtrack on infinite repeat really made it special and definitely, the movie is due for a repeat viewing very soon. My recollection of the film experience at the cinema almost fifteen years ago in Japan was incredible. I cried in many scenes and the final speech delivered by the Emperor, poignant and nationalistic really topped it off. I would have given my life for the Emperor just as Tom had offered... hehe. Anyhow, I better get going. Thank you for dropping by and always a pleasure, my friends.


Please Upvote, resteem and follow if you're interested to see more art posts like this one.
Bye for now.


Sort:  

Didn't know you were an animator. And amazing work as always :)
I suggest editing in the 'introduceyourself' tag...

Thanks for pointing it out. Yes, I was back in the day. Back when I was living recklessly haha.

Very nice design! Thank you for sharing
p.s - who do you think is going to win?

Thank you very much. I believe the ninja would win. Why? Because the ninja has nothing to lose. That is his mindset and when you add stealth ability and devious tactics, he is near invincible. The samurai on the other hand has too much pride, honor and reputation at stake... too much to lose whereas the ninja, an outcast in society has nothing nor needs anything but everything to gain.
By the way, I like your artwork. I'm following you ;)

I can't argue with this explanation, lol.
Thanks, followed you back :)

Neat drawings, my boys would love it. I love drawing too and have always wanted to put something I have drawn on t-shirt though have only ever done this with a sharpie pen once when I couldn't a shirt for our supporting football team. I will be reading more of your posts to hopefully inspire me to try this again.

Thank you and how old are your boys?

9 and 8 plus I have a 2 year old but he in love with cars at the moment

That's great. I have a 9 year old too who loves trains, cars and buses. If you ever want custom shirts made for them, please don't hesitate to ask me :)

Possibly a case of an unstoppable force encountering an immovable object?

Great work PD, the character of the sleeve nice old-skool touch too. Seeing the ninja jumping on the front instantly spawned in my imagination another scaling the back of the tee with hand claws.

It's great that you included the concept sketches too, not only shows that it's original work, but reveals the steps in the design process, plus we can check out the construction lines/blocking out used when you draw, which is always pretty cool.

Another ninja scaling on the back of the tee with hand claws is a great concept. If you're ever interested, I could make that for you ;)

Yes, an unstoppable force in the ninja is wise to take the fight in the blackness of night where the samurai is at his mercy. As much as I love samurais, the cunning and mystical ninja is superior, but if it's a ronin, the fight evens out.

Loved the post. Looking forward to more content! Hope you have a good time here.

Awesome. Thank you. I'm definitely enjoying it here :)

I make shirts as well, I really liked this, good job!!

Cool. I'll check out your work. Thank you for dropping by.

Nice drawing style, even better on the tshirt!
I like your other designs aswell :)
followed!

Thank you very much. I'm following you too :)

Excelentes dibujos realizados sobre las playeras. Saludos

I think the ninja will win

Many think so too. All the ninja has to do is wait til nightfall and attack the samurai warlord when he's drunk as a skunk.

Hahahahaha

interesting.... Good Luck

Thank you. Same to you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82