Yalo Studio exhibition, May 2015, Water Valley, MS

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I lived in Prague in the early 90s and returned in 2001. It took me awhile to get it together but in 2011 I finally found a good studio space and started painting and drawing more regularly, making up for lost time. Even during my lost decades I had been making art but this show that I shipped over to the States in 2015 was a sort of retrospective and homecoming. I have an MFA in painting from the University of Mississippi and my father lives in Oxford. My friend Coulter Fussell is a textile artist and quilt maker and she had a gallery for a while in Water Valley, MS. So this video documents that exhibition and we also released my book Bohemian at that time. Here is an interview I did with my friend Pat Cochran at the time for a local web journal.

timepassages.jpg
Time Passages, acrylic on canvas, 150 x 140cm, 2014

After Water Valley my work in the show went out to Palm Springs, CA to another art gallery, Rebel Art Space, which shut down last year. I sold a few more pieces there but now I have to figure out what to do with the remaining work. I dont really want to ship it back to Prague and if I send it to my mom in Kentucky, it'll just be stored away. So I'm searching around for an art dealer or gallerist willing to store and promote the work. Anybody know anybody who might have a suggestion? :)

If you'd like to see more of my work, check out the following links:

http://lwells.tumblr.com/

https://www.instagram.com/lawrence.wells/

Please upvote, follow and comment.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by praguepainter from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53406.15
ETH 2223.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29