@polebird: ❤️ Dubstep pottery - Throwing shapes, wobble with it! ❤️

in #art7 years ago (edited)


Today's pottery video editing was inspired by @teamhumble! I really liked his suggestion about putting the video to some dance music (that he gave me a month ago, lol). This video also features a little bit of wobble. Sometimes in pottery I can't quite get the perfect centering or the clay get's thrown off perfection by a bit. When this happens, I try to go with the flow, and in this case I still managed to make a fun little shaped vase in the end. Other time's the clay collapses in or gets weirdly twisted up - and it is OKAY. Pottery definitely teaches you a bit of tolerance and patience with mess ups when things don't go as planned. You may spend a lot of time throwing a beautiful pot, just to have it collapse in or not take it off the wheel correctly, or once I even dropped it afterwards! It could crack in the kiln in the first firing, the second firing, or crack just sitting out on the shelf drying. Music by bensound.com. Thanks for watching friends!

Love,
Jess


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Nice video. Nice pot. How long have you been doing pottery? I’ve been throwing pottery for 23 years. Started in high school and now do it in the garage for fun and to give gifts to family and friends. I also make my own dishes which is cool. If I could give you a couple tips since you said that you don’t always get the perfect centering. I use the palm and fingers of both hands while centering which gives more surface contact and thus more control. I noticed you were only using the side of your top hand(though it was a small piece so maybe you couldn’t your hands the way I describe). Also when initially opening the pot try to use both hands again and rest your arms on your legs or the splash pan for steadiness. When I started centering was easy but opening the pit up to start with is where I always made it go off center and I still do on occasion but I’ve learned to steady my hands somehow on every action so that they are not just free floating and shaking. Over all you have to make the clay do what you want it to do. I always tell people that I teach “control the clay, don’t let it control you”! Good luck and keep enjoying this wonderful art.

Thank you so much! I did it consistently maybe a once a week for about a year. I started learning at at studio for a month, moved and didn't find a place to throw until about a year and half later lol (but there is no official instructor, just the space to use - so I self re-taught myself how to throw with the help of a few friends. Thank you so much for the advice, greatly appreciated! I will definitely keep your tips in mind and try to apply it the next round :)

Wow Amazing !!

Drop the bass but don't drop the pot...

Yes will try not to! :P

Beautiful Transition Jessica....From Pole to Pottery :D
This indeed requires patience...

thank you Xabi!

Very good help me to play with d tube

Joke time!

This is really amazing. The transformation is wonderful. Is this how thousands of earthen pots and cups are made? I may likely exhaust my patience, not to talk about cracks during the firing up in the kiln. Lol.
I admire you more each day. You are simply SOPHISTICATED

Thank you!! :) I'm just a beginner potter, but it's another art I love! haha

Always improving your skill!!! Congratz :D

haha yes! :) thanks!

Is there anything you can't do?

lolll yesssss :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57774.35
ETH 2339.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44