Lessons learned from Sales Lost

in #art8 years ago


I am an artist, not the most humble artist at times, but an artist nonetheless and last night was really humbling. Granted it was raining and the purse consignment store I was selling my wares in didn't advertise the fact I'd be there, but still I was just hoping for one sale. One sale would have made my day but I stood there in an empty store front for hours just talking to the manager who thought I ruined a sale for her.

So not the most friendly environment and I am new to sales in person. I tend to hang out behind the scenes lurking on the internet and have sales experience on the phone for a national health insurance company. I need a marketer. I need an Instagram is what everyone is telling me. I need this. I need that and the other thing. You know how it is. Everyone loves to tell you how to do things, but I just wish I could get someone else to do things for me!

Anyway, one lesson I learned is not to pussyfoot around the price and just ask for the price you want expecting that the other person doesn't know you can negotiate down yet. I made that mistake with one of the very few chances I had.

I invested so much time and energy into making already made pieces which brings me to another lesson for the night. Solicit commissions instead of trying to sell your original artwork. People value special once made items better than mass produced or over commercialized stuff.

Last lesson: stop buying frames! I've wasted a lot of money on art supplies since art is an expensive business but most of that money went into frames. I guess I'll have some cool artwork in the house but if I don't sell anything in my next gallery show I may go a little crazy. Just full steem it ahead I guess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68666.90
ETH 3251.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67