How to create a colorful pebble painting with acrylic paint!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

You can do it! 

Sometimes you look at a painting and think, "wow, I wish I could do that as well. BUT, it looks so hard to do!"

December is the month of love, friendship but also gifts! Why not try to make your own gifts and surprise your loved ones with a handmake painting? 

You can do it, I promise! 

Let me show you how you can create something colorful in an easy way! 


For this painting you will need: 

* canvas ( I used a 20cm x 20cm )
* Acrylic paint in the colors you like
* Acrylic paint black
* Brushes
* Water
* palet for your paint
* Kitchen towel



LET'S GET STARTED!!!

^^
I started with the light yellow and will work all the way up to the darkest color on my palet.
I did not use any water to make the paint thinner. I prefer for these kind of paintings, the paint as thick as possible. 


^^
To make sure the colors blend on your canvas you keep going over them! To help the paint blend you can wet your brush just a little bit with water. 


^^
After adding all colors to the canvas, I drizzled a few specks of colors over the whole canvas to add some more details in a fun way!
You can now take a break and let it dry, or follow the next step as well. 




^^
To add some more details/texture I dipped my brush into clean water and let the drups fall down on the canvas. I wated 30 seconds before pushing down the paper towel! With this you lift/clean the paint from the canvas and it leaves nice color shapes.
When the whole painting was dry, I started to draw the shapes of the pebbles onto the canvas.



^^
Now you are going to use your black paint to create all the colorful pebbles on your painting! I did not mix my black paint with water. I wanted the paint as thick as possible to make sure I did not have to paint it three times.
Acrylic paint can be rather see through if you mix it up too much.



^^
Just keep adding the black and make sure, if you have a thick canvas, to also cover the sides with some black paint! This will make your painting really look better!
I used two layers of black paint. Between the layers I stepped back to let the paint dry. 



^^

And there you have it! A nice and colorful pebble painting!
You can do this with all kinds of colors and shapes!
Its fast, easy and really fun to do! 


Thank you for taking the time to read my post!
Feel free to ask questions or leave a reply!! 

lots of love 

@poeticsnake 





Sort:  

So creative and beautiful and yet you were able to make a simple tutorial on how to make it!!! You are amazing :D
Please do more tutorials like this, people need to understand that sometimes they just need to try something and not think about it too much "ahh but I don't know how to paint" "I can't paint" or whatever. If you want you can just try this simple tut and see.
Much Love ♥

Thank your for your always amazing replies!
I always try things out I see either online or made by friends.
I am a firm believer in trying and trying some more.
We tell ourself way too often we can;t do something and that is really sad!
Something made from the heart can never be wrong in my eyes!
Much love <3

Yes!!!
And what is the worst thing that could happen if we try? we fail? so what :P
I love failing, we can only learn from that hehe
And who know's we might create something amazing!!!

You literally just described what happened with me lol. I don't know how to paint and I can't paint or whatever, but I tried it out anyway!

https://steemit.com/art/@rodeo670/digital-artwork-colorful-pebble-painting-inspired-by-poeticsnake-s-tutorial :D

That's cool you decided to do that and it's not bad at all :D
Snekk have you seen it? @poeticsnake ^^

Wow, that looks great! Thank you for this tutorial, I think I might actually try to make something like this for my best friend this year. Hopefully mine turns out even half as decent as yours, if I do decide to make it :P

I am sure it will turn out perfect because you GOT tha skillllzzzz :D
No kidding, you can do this!
I like to give away little paintings like this for Christmas.
I am working on a few more :D

Thank you for your sweet and amazing reply!
Have a marvelous day!
xxx
Snekky

Thank you! This is another thing I never would have though to try out until I came to Steemit :P
These kinds of gifts are the best ones, because you put your heart and soul into creating something beautiful for the people you care about. :D

I hope you have a marvelous day as well!

Love the colours and the name of your creation ❤

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving a reply!
Have a marvelous colorful day!

This turned out very pretty! Did you have most of the paints on hand? How much do you think you spent on this in total? I have to get creative with the costs of Christmas presents this year.

For this painting I had paint on hand. I used cheap acrylic paint and a canvas from the same store. The store is named the Action and is really cheap. If I had to guess, I would say I would have spend, $1.50 at most. BUT, the paint set was around 4 euro, the canvas was a two set and costed 1, 50 give or take...
I have to guess because I get a lot of suplies from friends and family!

If you use more expensive suplies, ( better canvas, paint) A painting like this can cost you around $10.00 or more.
That is why I always say, shop shop and shop some more until you find things cheaper.

Very cool and very organized how you show your method step by step!

Wow very nice tutorial . Nice to doing that every weekend.

An artist expresses the language of his mind through art works. You're so favorite, so your picture is so beautiful. Thanks to the photo. @poeticsnake

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $28.42 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 05 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

KAOZpebbleartworkcoverphoto.jpg

I had to come back to tell you on here as well. You inspired me to try it out, and I even made a post about it to spread word about your awesome tutorial and how much it helped me to cultivate my visual artistry even though it's definitely not my strong suit. Thank you so much for this tutorial, and for all the tutorials you've posted really, they've been so helpful and I appreciate the work that you do on the blockchain to help people realize that they can be visually artistic too, even when we think we can't! :)

https://steemit.com/art/@rodeo670/digital-artwork-colorful-pebble-painting-inspired-by-poeticsnake-s-tutorial

Looks awesome again, You are so creative. You've inspired me to do some painting as well 😊

This post has received a 18.65 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @poeticsnake.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79