Doodle and decorate your home #4 (Tutorial)

in #art8 years ago

Happy Doodle time!

We mostly doodle on paper but I am going to change that and show to you that you can Doodle on really everything if you have the right tools. Why should you only doodle during boring meetings, classes or when you have a nice sit on the toilet. Why not doodle on things you like to make them look even more amazing?
So this time I want to show you that you can Doodle your own candle holder from a wine bottle!  


  Need: * A empty wine bottle. ( Full will not work and it will be a perfect reason the drink.)
              * Gesso paint or primer.
              * A sponge ( I always put it in half before i use it.)
              * Blow dryer to dry the paint faster.
              * Waterproof marker. ( I used a blue one)
              * Time.... :D
              * Happy thoughts.
              * A dinner candle.



Start with painting the bottle. I dip my sponge into the primer and dap it onto the bottle. Cover the whole bottle and blow dry the bottle till you can hold and touch the bottle again. Put on a second white layer and blow dry again. You need to put at least 2 or 3 layers on the bottle to get the best result. For the third layer I used some normal yellow paint and mixed that up with the primer to get a nice soft yellow color. This layer I let air dry but you can also blow dry it. But make sure it's really dry because you are going to use a pen on it and if the paint is not dry enough you will ruin your work before you even started.



Here you see my now dry soft yellow bottle! I made sure the paint is really dry. ( Mine dried a whole night.) 



I started with the big flower in the middle and started to add more figures around it. I always like to start in the middle so work from there. You can draw any figure you like. I also love to use some thicker lines because you draw really small things it needs something to make it pop out.



I added a long string with leaves and curves as the frame of my drawing and started to fill some spots to get them darker. The more dark you use the more it will pop out BUT, Don't use too much. That will cause your drawing to look like one big dark spot and take away the beauty of your hard work.



I added the same string frame at the other side of the drawing as well but started A bit lower on top and at the bottom. Now it was time to fill in the empty spots left between the frames I created. 



I decided to use little flowers but you can use any shape you like. Fill up as much as you can between the frames and if you find little empty spots you just color them in. That will make your drawing look solid and really done. I used a waterproof marker with a small point and quick drying ink. But if you notice your ink does not dry that quick please stop drawing at certain times to give it enough time to dry. While drawing you will notice that you turn the bottle around in your hands a whole lot and by that you place your fingers on spots you already draw on. If that happens when the ink is not dry you can start all over by making a new bottle because you can't erase the ink. 


And there you go! You made your own wine bottle doodle candle holder!
I love to put all the bottles I make on a big plate and decorate it with things in season. Fall is starting soon so my plate is full with wood, orange dried fruits and some butterflies.

 If you enjoyed watching my artwork, the tutorials I share, want to ask me something or want advice, want to give me some advice, feel free to leave a reply and I will get back to you as soon as possible. If you create something from your heart inspired by my tutorials it would be great to see the end result in the replies.
Don't forget to push the follow button! Replies are really appreciated.

Happy Doodling! 
@Poeticsnake   

Sort:  

How long did that take to complete? What come to mind right away for me would be like Beatles Sergeant Pepper art ... doodled :)

To make the bottle Doodle ready it took me about a hour. I blow dried the bottle twice and the third time I let it stand to dry for a whole night. ( It was to dark to doodle.) BUT, I am used to Painting bottles and glass with materials like this so if you have never done it it might twice as long. Making the doodle took me like 2 hours as well because the underground is not smoothe. I rather draw slow than mess up. So, total time for me is 3 hours, give or take.

When I saw your title the first thing I thought was, oh my goodness, she's taking a sharpie marker to her walls. LOL
The candle holder is beautiful! I may have to try this one day when I don't feel like I'm so much in transit :) Putting them on a large plate is the perfect final touch :)

Its really cool if you have more bottles in different sizes on one plate. As you can see on my plate I have many and all are decorated. I used paper napkins and sometimes just paint. Or glitter stones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43